Kohli named 'Cricketer of the Decade'; Smith, Dhoni also awarded

Mudit Dube
·2-min read

Kohli named
Kohli named

28 Dec 2020: Kohli named 'Cricketer of the Decade'; Smith, Dhoni also awarded

India's captain Virat Kohli has won the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Men's Cricketer of the Decade.

He scored 20,396 runs in international cricket (between January 1, 2011-October 7, 2020), including 66 centuries in 86 Tests, 208 ODIs, and 80 T20Is.

Kohli also bagged the ODI Player of the Decade award, while another GOAT Steven Smith was chosen as the Test Player.

Fact: Listen in to Kohli's reaction on winning the awards

Fact: Steve Smith wins Test Player of the Decade award

Australia's leading batsman, Steve Smith, clinched the ICC Men's Test Player of the Decade award, while Afghanistan's right-arm spinner, Rashid Khan, won the ICC Men's T20I Player of the Decade award for his brilliant run in the shortest format.

Fair Play award: Dhoni grabs Spirit of Cricket Award

Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade. This title is awarded for "an action, moment, gesture, or decision on the field of play" which best reflects the spirit of the game.

Dhoni bagged this fair play award for his gesture to call back England's Ian Bell following a disputable run-out at Trent Bridge in 2011.

Fact: Australia's Ellyse Perry won Female Cricketer of the Decade award

Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry emerged as the winner in the Female Cricketer of the Decade category, winning the Rachael Heyhoe Flint award. She scored 4,349 runs with four centuries and took 213 wickets in international cricket during the time period considered for the award.

Easy favorite: Kohli grabs a spot in all 'Teams of the Decade'

Kohli also became the only player to feature in all three ICC Men's Teams of the Decade, which is compiled by the Voting Academy of journalists and broadcasters.

He has been listed as captain of the Test Team of the Decade, while MS Dhoni, who didn't make it to the Test Team, was selected as the skipper of the ODI and T20 teams.

Also see: Virat Kohli leads ICC Test Team of the Decade
ICC announces T20I and ODI Teams of the Decade
Kohli, Ashwin nominated for ICC Player of the Decade Award
Read more on Sports by NewsBytes.