Know All About 2015 Cricket World Cup: History, Participants and Winner of the 11th Edition of World Cup

Team Latestly
Australia, and New Zealand jointly hosted the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 was the 11th edition of the 50-overs World Cup. It was held in Australia and New Zealand and was played between February 14 to March 29. After. The 1992 World Cup, Australia, and New Zealand hosted the mega tournament for the second time. Australia hosted 26 matches including the final during the 2015 World Cup while 23 matches featured in New Zealand. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

Also Read | ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Chris Gayle Warns Bowlers, Says They Still Fear The 'Universe Boss'

Participating Teams and Format: 14 teams took part in the 2015 Cricket World Cup. The teams were divided into two groups of seven teams each. Hosts New Zealand and Australia, apart from Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, England, Afghanistan, and Scotland formed Group A while Group B featured India, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and the United Arab Emirates. After the group stage, eight teams, four from each group, qualified for the quarterfinals. Out of eight teams, four then proceeded to the semis. Debutants at ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Jasprit Bumrah, Babar Azam, Kagiso Rabada & Other Young Stars to Look Forward to in CWC 2019.

Semi-Finalists: New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Australia, Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh qualified for the last eight. Out of these, South Africa, New Zealand, India, and Australia made it to the semi-finals. In the first semifinal, New Zealand defeated South Africa while Australia outplayed India in the second semis. Ahead of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, Here’s a Look Back at How New Zealand Fared at the Last Edition of the CWC.

Also Read | ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Yorkers and its Variety That Bowlers Will Unleash This WC

Winner: In a one-sided final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne, Australia under Michael Clarke's leadership defeated co-hosts New Zealand by seven wickets to lift their fifth World Cup title. New Zealand were bowled out for just 183 runs and then Australia completed the chase in 33.1 overs.

New Zealand’s opening batsman Martin Guptill emerged as the highest run-getter in the 2015 World Cup with 547 runs from 11 matches, which included unbeaten 237 as well. Australia’s Mitchell Starc and New Zealand’s Trent Boult finished as joint-highest wicket-takers with 22 wickets each. Starc, however, played a match less than Boult.