Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2017, Match 8 Preview: Chris Gayle nears landmark as RCB take on KXIP

Sattwik Biswal
Kings XI Punjab vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2017, Match 8 Preview: Bangalore face a tricky opposition in Punjab in their third game at Holkar Stadium in Indore.

Royal Challengers Bangalore face another tricky opposition in Kings XI Punjab in their third match of this season of
Indian Premier League.

After losing their first game to Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Bangalore outfit clawed back to win their second match, beating Delhi Dardevils by 15 runs. Bangalore has been hit hard by injuries to their star players like Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, KL Rahul and Sarfaraz Khan. (IPL 2017: Full coverage)

There has been no update on Kohli and de Villiers’ fitness, so most likely both won’t be playing the Monday game against Punjab. In their absence, again it will be stand-in captain Shane Watson leading the team.

Watson led brilliantly in the home game against Delhi by picking up one wicket and conceding only 21 runs. Watson played the master-stroke by throwing the ball to Pawan Negi to bowl the final over, and the ploy worked with the left-arm spinner removing Rishabh Pant. Billy Stanlake and Yuzvendra Chahal were the other bowlers who were successful by picking up two wickets apiece.

On the batting front, Bangalore will miss the services of Kohli and de Villiers but in their absence Kedar Jadhav has done well in both the matches. However, Chris Gayle is yet to take off after falling cheaply.

While, Punjab will come into the match with a lot of confidence after an easy win over Rising Pune Supergiant. The skipper Glenn Maxwell led from the front with a 20-ball 44 to help Punjab chase down Pune’s target with six balls to spare. Also Read: Ravindra Jadeja to return for Gujarat Lions’ next match

It is highly unlikely they will tamper the winning combination but that will completely depend on the conditions at the Holkar Stadium in Indore. The team has decent sprinkle of international stars apart from Maxwell in Eoin Morgan, Darren Sammy, Martin Guptill and Wriddhiman Saha – who have enough experience playing the shortest format of the game.

Teams (from):

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Shane Watson (capt), Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav (wk), Travis Head, Sachin Baby, Stuart Binny, Tymal Mills, Sreenath Aravind, Aniket Choudhary, Yuzvendra Chahal, Pawan Negi, Harshal Patel, Adam Milne, Iqbal Abdulla, Samuel Badree, Avesh Khan, Tabraiz Shamsi, Praveen Dubey, Billy Stanlake.

Kings XI Punjab: Glenn Maxwell (capt), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Hashim Amla, Shaun Marsh, Armaan Jaffer, Martin Guptill, Eoin Morgan, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Arman Jaffer, Anureet Singh, Mohit Sharma, KC Cariappa, Pradeep Sahu, Swapnil Singh, T Natrajan, Matt Henry, Varun Aaron, Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Gurkeerat Mann, Rahul Tewatia, Darren Sammy, Wriddhiman Saha, Nikhil Naik, Ishant Sharma.