Kerala Assembly Election Dates Announcement: State to vote on 6 April for 140 seats; results on 2 May

FP Staff
·1-min read

Kerala Assembly Election Dates Announcement | The Election Commission announced the poll dates for Assembly election in Kerala on Friday >(26 February). The single-phased election will be held on 6 April with the counting of votes on 2 May, said the poll panel

The Kerala Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) has a total number of 140 seats, of which, 14 seats are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and two seats are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes.

Past election results

When was the result of Kerala Assembly polls declared in 2016: 19 May

Who won the election: The Left Democratic Front (LDF), led by CPM were declared the winner, defeating the closest opponent United Democratic Front (UDF)

Who is the incumbent chief minister: Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as the chief minister on 25 May

Total registered voters: 26,019,284

Voter turnout: 77.35 percent

Check full schedule for Kerala Legislative Assembly election 2021:

Last Date for filing Nominations: 19 March

Date for scrutiny of nominations: 20 March

Last date for withdrawal of candidatures: 22 March

Voting: 6 April

Counting of votes: 2 May

The terms of the legislative Assembly of Kerala will come to an end in May this year.

Also See: Assembly Election 2021 Dates: Bengal to vote on 27 March, 1-29 April; TN, Kerala, Puducherry on 6 April; Assam on 27 March, 1-6 April

Assembly Election Dates Announcement Updates: Congress, TMC question rationale of holding eight-phase polls in West Bengal

Assam Assembly Election Dates Announced: Polling in three phases on 27 March, 1 April and 6 April; counting of votes on 2 May

Read more on India by Firstpost.