Karnataka: No Ministerial Berth to Sullia MLA S Angara, Over 150 BJP Workers Resign in Protest

Team Latestly

Sullia, August 22: In a show of disagreement against Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for not giving ministerial berth to Sullia MLA S Angara, the Sullia BJP Mandala Samithi has announced non-cooperation movement. More than 150 BJP workers have submitted their resignations after the name of five-time MLA didn't appear in the first list of Karnataka cabinet ministers. Karnataka Cabinet Formation: 16 BJP Legislators, One Independent MLA Sworn in as Ministers, Full List Here.

Also Read | Kolkata High Court Stays Arrest Warrant Against Congress MP Shashi Tharoor for 'Hindu Pakistan' Remark

The workers who had submitted their resignations said that they are angry because Angara was not given the ministerial position in the state cabinet. Speaking to The News minute, Angara said that he is hurt by the exclusion. Karnataka's Disqualified MLA MTB Nagaraj Now Owns Rolls-Royce Phantom Worth Rs 9.5 Crore.

“It is hurtful that my constituents have been loyal towards BJP for so many years and yet their representative is not been given a ministerial berth,” Angara told The News Minute.

Also Read | Maharashtra Legislative Council Election Results 2019: Ambadas Danve, Shiv Sena-BJP Alliance Candidate, Wins From Aurangabad-Jalna Constituency

Samithi president Venkat Valalambe said that all works related to the party will be suspended till Angara get a ministerial berth. He also urged BJP state president Nalin Kumar Kateel and Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa to clear their stand in this regard.

In the list of 17 ministers, no leader from Dakshina Kannada was named. However, Dakshina Kannada MP Nalin Kumar Kateel was announced as state BJP President replacing CM BS Yediyurappa. However, Sullia BJP members say that representation from the coastal districts is not enough in state politics.