Karnataka: CM Siddaramaiah, 27 ministers named in Lokayukta complaint over transfer of police officers

Devyani Sultania
I-T raids against Karnataka minister Shivakumar: Taxmen recover undisclosed income worth Rs 300 crore

The chief of Akhila Karnataka Police Mahasangha (AKPM) on Thursday filed a complaint with the Karnataka Lokayukta against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and 27 other ministers of his Cabinet over the transfer of police officers in the state.

More from IBTimes India: Uttar Pradesh: 14 dead, 24 injured as mini-truck with wedding party falls into canal in Etah

In December 2016, the police force in Karnataka had seen a major reshuffle with the transfer of 41 Indian Police Service (IPS) officers.

On Thursday, AKPM chief Shashidhar Venugopal approached the state Lokayukta against the CM and his ministers alleging large scale corruption that took place in the transfer of police officials on New Year's Eve.

Venugopal also listed names of 21 police officers in his complaint accusing them of bribing ministers for favourable transfers and appointments. Venugopal also urged the Lokayukta to launch an investigation against all those named in the complaint.

According to reports, Siddaramaiah wants a mix of old and new police officers in Bengaluru and other places ahead of the state Assembly elections in 2018.