Karnataka bypolls 2017: Polling and counting dates of Nanjangud and Gundlupet by-elections

Vaibhav Tiwari
LIVE Bye-Election Results 2017: BJP or Congress, who will the state of Karnataka choose?

New Delhi, April 05: The year 2017 is the year of elections. The dust of the assembly elections to five states has not settled yet. In no time, the bypolls have arrived. The southern state of Karnataka also has two assembly bypolls. The competition is between the BJP, the Congress and JDS. However, the battered JDS is gasping for breath. Here is important information that you must know about the elections in Karnataka.

  • The elections for Karnataka Assembly will be held in two constituencies. Nanjangud and Gundlupet
  • The notification for the elections was released on March 14
  • The last date for the nomination was March 21.
  • 14 candidates filed the nominations in Nanjangud.
  • 9 candidates filed the nominations in Gundlupet.
  • The date of polling is April 9.
  • The date of results will be April 13.
  • The electoral process would have to be completed by April 15.
  • The elections in Gundlupet is happening as former Congress MLA HS Mahadeva Prasad passed away.
  • The elections in Nanjangud is happening as Congress veteran V. Srinivasa Prasad resigned in December and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.
  • Both constituencies are important for the parties as the bypolls are considered semifinals before the grand finale-assembly elections 2018
  • All sides have employed their heavy-weights to campaign and oversee elections. From Congress, CM Sidharamaiah is monitoring elections. From the BJP, former CM Yeddyurappa is overseeing the campaign.