Karnataka bypoll 2017 results: Nanjangud, Gundlupet bye-elections are semifinals between Siddaramaiah and Yeddyurappa

Vaibhav Tiwari
Bengaluru, October 8: The Anti-Corruption Branch of Karnataka Government on Sunday filed an FIR against former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Ananth Kumar in a bribery case. The body booked both leaders after the forensic labs confirmed the voices in a tape were authentic. The leaders could be heard talking […]

Bengaluru, April 12: The Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress party approached the Karnataka assembly bypolls by employing their full strength. Both parties involved their heavyweights in two assembly constituencies. The Nanjangud and Gundlupet bye-elections were not merely for assembly seats, they are the semi-finals before the grand finale: Karnataka Assembly Election 2018. When the results are announced on Thursday, it will become clear which side has the popular support as of now. The results will show which leader has the edge: Yeddyurappa or Siddaramaiah.

Siddharamaiah has a clear edge in the two constituencies. Both have been his stronghold. Last time also, the Congress party had won both seats. It is a big challenge for the Bharatiya Janata Party as they have never been able to win in old Mysuru region and winning here is of utmost importance as it would be a big jolt to Congress party’s morale.

However, BS Yeddyurappa was not much perturbed about BJP’s poor track record. He had said before the elections that the BJP would win both seats by a big margin. The leader has worked hard to create a wave for the party in the two constituencies. The leader camped for a month and campaigned for his party.

If Yeddyurappa can affect a win, it would be a big boost for the Bharatiya Janata Party as a Dalit-Lingayat axis would be formed which can be used by the party in the future. On the other hand, if a win is secured by the Congress leader, it would be a big respite to the beleaguered party that has not been able to break the streak of electoral losses.

All you need to know about the polls

  • The results for Karnataka bypoll 2017 will be announced on Thursday. The counting for assembly bye-elections in Karnataka’s Nanjangud and Gundlupet will start at 8 am and the first trends are expected to come at 9 am tomorrow.
  • The results will be announced on the website of Election Commission. Trends can also be seen at India.com. The bye-elections are a precursor to Karnataka’s assembly elections in 2018. Both Congress and BJP have thrown their all in these elections. Here is all you want to know about the Karnataka bypoll 2017.
  • It was a BJP vs Congress competition in Nanjangud bye-elections, polling for which was held in the district on April 9. Congress party’s Kalale N Keshavamurthy took on a strong challenge of BJP’s V Srinivasa Prasad. Both leaders had contested last time from different parties. While Keshavamurthy had contested from a JDS ticket, Prasad contested on a Congress ticket. Srinivasa recently fell out with Congress over cabinet reshuffle, forcing an election in the assembly segment. He joined the Bharatiya Janata Party. Keshavamurthy joined the Congress. In 2013, Srinivas had defeated Keshavamurthy.
  • The list of candidates in Nanjangud
    BJP-V. Srinivasa Prasad
    Ananda G-Independent
    D. Eshwar Swabhimaani-Independent
    D.K. Tulasappa-Independent
    R. Prasanna Goluru-Independent
    B.S. Mahadevaswamy-Independent
    H.P. Sheshanna-Independent
  • Gundlupet–the other assembly constituency that went to bye-elections on April 9–also witnessed a two-cornered fight between the Congress party and BJP. In 2013, veteran Congress leader H.S. Mahadeva Prasad had defeated KJP’s Niranjan Kumar. The election was called due to the demise of HS Mahadeva Prasad.
    List of candidates
    BJP-C.S.Niranjan Kumar
    INC-M.C.Mohan Kumari Urf Geetha
    Mahadeva Prasad.B-Independent