Kanhaiya Kumar Braces For Massive Loss To BJP's Giriraj Singh


Former JNU students union leader and CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar is trailing from Begusarai Lok Sabha seat in Bihar in 2019 Lok Sabha polls as votes are being counted on Thursday.

This 32-year-old left leader was pitted against controversial BJP leader and union minister Giriraj Singh and RJD’s Tanveer Hasan in a triangular contest after RJD leader and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s son Tejashwi refused to back him despite CPI being a part of the larger grand alliance in the state before the election.

As per early trends, Giriraj Singh is leading by over two lakh votes.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, BJP’s Bhola Singh had won this seat by defeating RJD’s Tanveer Hasan by 58,335 votes.

Even in that “Wave” election, the CPI had managed to garner 1,92,693 votes and stood third, which shows that Begusarai is one rare Lok Sabha constituency in the Hindi heartland where CPI has a core voter base in lakhs.

In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, CPI’s Shatrughna Prasad Singh had lost from this seat by a margin of 40,837 votes and stood second.

Kanhaiya was banking on this core CPI vote base and his local credentials, apart from the Dalit-Muslim vote in this constituency.


Continue reading on HuffPost