JMM announces first list of 3 candidates for Jharkhand polls

JMM announces first list of 3 candidates for Jharkhand polls Ranchi, Nov 10 (PTI) The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)on Sunday announced its first list of three candidates for theassembly polls in the state.

Party president Shibu Soren approved the names ofBhushan Tirkey (Gumla-ST), Chamra Linda (Bishunpur-ST) andMithelesh Kumar Thakur (Garhwa), a JMM release said here.

The JMM, the Congress and Lalu Prasad Yadav'sRashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had recently announced a pre-pollalliance in the state. Former chief minister and JMM workingpresident Hemant Soren will be the alliance's chiefministerial face.

The Congress will contest 31 out of 81 seats inJharkhand. The RJD will contest on seven seats, while thelargest chunk of the alliance share has gone to the JMM, whichwill contest on 43 seats.

Jharkhand will vote in five phases, with the first oneon November 30 and the last on December 20. Results will bedeclared on December 23. The last date of filing nominationsfor the first phase of the elections is November 13.

Earlier in the day, the BJP announced its first listof 52 candidates, while the Congress declared five candidates.

The BJP will seek to retain power in Jharkhand amid adetermined bid by opposition parties, mainly the Congress andthe JMM, to oust the Raghubar Das-headed government. PTI PVRRBT RBT