Jio Filmfare Awards Punjabi 2017 nominations: From Sunil Grover and Diljit Dosanjh to Jimmy Shergill, here's the complete list of nominees

Dishya Sharma
Ambarsariya, Love Punjab and Ardaas

The first ever Jio Filmfare Awards Punjabi 2017 will be held on March 31, in Chandigarh. And the nomination list has just been released. A number of brilliant movies were released last year, boosting not only the talent pool the industry has to offer, but also bringing in box office collections.

But the best of best movies made their way to the Jio Filmfare Awards Punjabi 2017 nominations list. It is not surprising to see that four of Punjab's best actors found a spot in the list. Punjabi superstar Diljit Dosanjh made his way to the list following the massive success of Ambarsariya. Amrinder Gill starred in Love Punjab, which not only had a great story line but also beat the opening weekend box office collections of Sardaar Ji in Australia and New Zealand.

Also Read: Jio Filmfare Awards (Punjabi) 2017: The black lady walks into Punjabi film industry

More from IBTimes India: Sony's new 2017 Xperia XZ series phone coming to India soon

Gippy Grewal hit two nominations as he not only starred in Kaptaan but also directed Ardaas, featuring Gurpreet Ghuggi. And Jimmy Shergil shined in Vaisakhi List, alongside newcomer Sunil Grover.

The women were not behind either. The Filmfare Award will see Punjabi industry's two most popular and talented actresses – Neeru Bajwa and Mahie Gill up against each other to take home the black lady. While newcomer male category has Sunil Grover shining bright, the female debut nominations like stars the three leading ladies of Ambarsariya namely Lauren Gottlieb, Monica Gill and Navneet Kaur Dhillon alongside Lock actress Geeta Basra.

Check out the complete nomination list:

More from IBTimes India: IPL 2017: Virat Kohli out for the entire season for RCB? If not, when will he play?

Best Editing

Baljit Singh Deo (Ardaas)

Manish More (Ambarsariya)

More from IBTimes India: We are not going to play Hindutva card but we are with the majority, says Gujarat Congress chief Bharatsinh Solanki on state polls

Manish More (Bambukat)

Omkarnath Bhakri (Love Punjab)

Omkarnath Bhakri (Nikka Zaildar)

Sandeep Francis & Samar Singh (Sardarji 2)

Best Sound Design

Jayesh Dhakan (Ambarsariya)

Joe Rodrigues (Love Punjab)

Joe Rodrigues (Nikka Zaildar)

Pankaj Batra and Joe Rodrigues (Bambukat)

Pardeep Suri (Ardaas)

Parikshit Lalwani and Kunal Mehta (Channo Kamli Yaar Di)

Best Production Design

Rajinder Sharma (Ambarsariya)

Rashid Rangrez (Bambukat)

Rashid Rangrez (Love Punjab)

Rashid Rangrez (Nikka Zaildar)

Vijay and Dona (Sardaarji 2)

Best Background Score

Love Punjab

Jatinder Shah (Ardaas)

Jatinder Shah (Bambukat)

Jatinder Shah (Love Punjab)

Salil Amrute (Sardarji 2)

Sunny Bawra-Inder Bawra (Ambarsariya)

R Sheen and Anamik Chauhan (Aatishbazi Ishq)

Best Choreography

Sardaar Ji 2

Baba Yadav - Ju think (Ambarsariya)

Devang Desai - Poplin (Sardarji 2)

Devang Desai - Sardarji (Sardarji 2)

Mehul Gadani - Jatt mele aa gaya (Vaisakhi List)

Mehul Gadani - Tu door gayi (Vaisakhi List)

Raju Khan - Pagg wala munda (Ambarsariya)

Best Cinematography

Akashdeep Pandey (Nikka Zaildar)

Anshul Chobey (Ambarsariya)

Baljit Singh Deo (Ardaas)

Navneet Misser (Love Punjab)

Sandip Patil (Sardarji 2)

Satya Nagpaul (Chauthi Koot)

Best Original Story

Chauthi Koot


Ambardeep Singh (Love Punjab)

Dheeraj Rattan (Ambarsariya)

Gippy Grewal (Ardaas)

Jagdeep Sidhu (Nikka Zaildar)

Jass Grewal (Bambukat)

Waryam Singh Sandhu (Chauthi Koot)

Best Screenplay

Amberdeep Singh (Love Punjab)

Amit Subhash Dhawan and Jagjit S Saini (Aatishbaazi Ishq)

Dheeraj Rattan (Ambarsariya)

Gippy Grewal (Ardaas)

Jagdeep Sidhu (Nikka Zaildar)

Jass Grewal (Bambukat)

Best Dialogue

Amberdeep Singh (Love Punjab)

Balraj Sayal (Ambarsariya)

Jagdeep Sidhu (Nikka Zaildar)

Jatinder Lall (Sardarji 2)

Jatinder Lall and Jass Grewal (Bambukat)

Rana Ranbir (Ardaas)

Best Action

K Ganesh Kumar (Needhi Singh)

K Ganesh Kumar (25 Kille)

Kaushal - Moses (Ambarsariya)

Kaushal - Moses (Kaptaan)

Mahendra Verma (Tiger)

Salam Ansari (Aatishbaazi Ishq)

Best Music Album

Vaisakhi List

Vaisakhi List, Twitter

Jaidev Kumar (Vaisakhi List)

Jatinder Shah (Ambarsariya)

Jatinder Shah (Ardaas)

Jatinder Shah (Love Punjab)

Jatinder Shah (Nikka Zaildar)

Jatinder Shah (Sardarji 2)

Best Lyrics

Gill Raunta - Kawa wali panchait (Ardaas)

Happy Raikoti - Akhiyan de taare (Love Punjab)

Happy Raikoti - Pagg wala munda (Ambarsariya)

Kumaar - Tu door gayi (Vaisakhi List)

Ranbir Singh - Mitran da junction (Sardarji 2)

Veet Baljit - Poplin (Sardarji 2)

Best Playback Singer (Male)

Ammy Virk - Mini cooper (Nikka Zaildar)

Amrinder Gill - Bade chaava naal (Chaar Sahibzaade: Rise Of Banda Singh Bahadur)

Amrinder Gill - Jind (Bambukat)

Diljit Dosanjh - Mitra De Junction (Sardarji 2)

Diljit Dosanjh - Poplin (Sardarji 2)

Nachhtar Gill - Dataji (Ardaas)

Best Playback Singer (Female)

Jenny Johal - Dowein nain (Love Punjab)

Jyoti Nooran and Sultana Nooran - Yaar di gali (Channo Kamli Yaar Di)

Kaur B - Kainthe wala (Bambukat)

Rashi Sood - Rakhi soneya ve (Bambukat)

Sunidhi Chauhan - Mere Sahib (Ardaas)

Best Debut Director


Gippy Grewal, Facebook

Amit Subhash Dhawan (Aatishbaazi Ishq)

Gippy Grewal (Ardaas)

Manbhavan Singh (Gelo)

Rajiv Dhingra (Love Punjab)

Rakesh Mehta (Vaapsi)

Best Debut (Male)

Dilpreet Dhillion (Once Upon Time In Amritsar)

Mankirta Aulakh (Main Teri Tu Mera)

Ranjha Vikram Singh (25 Kille)

Ravinder (Aatishbaazi Ishq)

Sunil Grover (Vaisakhi List)

Best Debut (Female)


Aman Hundal (Dulla Bhatti)

Geeta Basra (Lock)

Lauren Gottlieb (Ambarsariya)

Monica Gill (Ambarsariya)

Navneet Kaur Dhillon (Ambarsariya)

Simi Chahal (Bambukat)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)

Binnu Dhillon (Bambukat)

Guggu Gill (25 Kille)

Karamjit Anmol (Nikka Zaildar)

Yograj Singh (Love Punjab)

Rana Ranbir (Ardaas)

Sardar Sohi (Ardaas)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)

Anita Devgan (Bambukat)

Gul Panag (Ambarsariya)

Isha Rikhi (Ardaas)

Nirmal Rishi (Love Punjab)

Nirmal Rishi (Nikka Zaildar)

Sheetal Thakur (Bambukat)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Male)

Ammy Virk (Bambukat)

Amrinder Gill (Love Punjab)

Diljit Dosanjh (Ambarsariya)

Gippy Grewal (Kaptaan)

Gurpreet Ghuggi (Ardaas)

Jimmy Shergill (Vaisakhi List)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female)

Channo Kamli Yaar Di

Kulraj Randhawa (Needhi Singh)

Mahie Gill (Aatishbaazi Ishq)

Neeru Bajwa (Channo Kamli Yaar Di)

Sargun Mehta (Love Punjab)

Simi Chahal (Bambukat)

Sonam Bajwa (Nikka Zaildar)

Best Director

Gippy Grewal (Ardaas)

Mandeep Kumar (Ambarsariya)

Pankaj Batra (Bambukat)

Pankaj Batra (Channo Kamli Yaar Di)

Rohit Jugraj (Sardarji 2)

Rajiv Dhingra (Love Punjab)

Best Film





Chaar Sahibzaade: Rise Of Banda Singh Bahadur

Love Punjab

Nikka Zaildar

Who do you think will win? Take your pick and let us know in the comments section!

Related Articles