'Under What Law?' As J&K Frees 3 Politicians, Daughter Says Mehbooba Refused to Sign Bond


Srinagar: Iltija, the daughter of People's Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti, slammed the Jammu and Kashmir administration for their "rudderless approach" in releasing three politicians under detention since August 5 on the condition of signing a bond, stating that several leaders including her mother had categorically refused to sign them.

Yawar Mir, Noor Mohammed and Shoiab Lone placed under detention after the government stripped J&K of its special status, were released Thursday on various grounds, the officials said, explaining the reasons for ending of their detention. While Mir is a former PDA MLA from the Rafiabad assembly seat, Lone contested unsuccessfully on a Congress ticket from North Kashmir and later resigned as district president of the party.

Iltija, who has been handling her mother's Twitter account after her detention in the wake of the Centre's move to end J&K's special status, questioned the basis on which the leaders were forced to sign bonds for their 'conditional release'. "Reports say detainees released today were forced to sign bonds. Under what law is their release conditional as their detention was illegal itself?," she wrote, highlighting that many including Mufti have categorically refused to sign these bonds. The govt with its rudderless approach is tying itself in knots," she added.

Noor Mohammed is a National Conference worker who has been managing the party's show in the militancy-infested Batmaloo area of the Srinagar city. Before his release, he will be signing a bond to maintain peace and good behaviour, the officials said on Wednesday night.

The governor administration had earlier released Imran Ansari of the People's Conference and Syed Akhoon on health grounds on September 21. More than a thousand people, including politicians, separatists, activists and lawyers, were detained after the August 5 move of the central government to abrogate the state's special status.

The detainees include three former chief ministers Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti. Over 250 people were sent to the jails outside Jammu and Kashmir. Farooq Abdullah was subsequently detained under the stringent Public Safety Act, while other politicians were mostly detained under different sections of the criminal procedure code.