ISRO Chairman K Sivan's Security Cover Removed, Z Category For Kamal Nath to Continue

Team Latestly
After reviewing over 130 cases, the government has removed the security benefits granted to several politicians including RJD boss Lalu Prasad and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, while it has scaled down the protection category of many others.

New Delhi, July 24: In a mega review meeting of VIP security cover provided to politicians and lawmakers, the Centre has revised/removed the cover granted to several leaders across the nation. After reviewing over 130 cases, the government has removed the security benefits granted to politicians including RJD boss Lalu Prasad and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, while it has scaled down the protection category of many others. The Ministry of Home Affairs removed the security cover provided to ISRO chairman K Sivan while it continued 'Z' category CISF mobile cover across India for Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath.  Security Cover For Lalu Prasad Yadav, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Chirag Paswan Downgraded by MHA, CRPF Protection Withdrawn.

Also Read | ISRO Shortlisting Name to Inscribe on Landing Site on Moon After Chandrayaan 2's Touchdown

Reports inform that those who have been removed from the central list will be taken care off by the police units of various state governments. This means, the security cover of Sivan, will be taken off by the state police units. The ISRO Chief and renowned scientist was accorded "Y Plus" category VIP security entailing protection by Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) commandos. He was also designated as the Secretary (Space) in the Union government, will be guarded by a team of about 3-5 armed commandos.

Here's the List:

Also Read | China Congratulates India On Chandrayaan 2; Wants to Work Together for Outer Space Exploration

These VIPs, including politicians and lawmakers, were being secured by the armed commandos of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) like the CRPF, CISF, the elite counter-terror force NSG and the Delhi Police. The security review is the first full-scale review of VIP protectees by the Union home ministry after the Modi 2.0 government took charge.

Z+ Level Security of These Politicians Removed

According to sources, the top level 'Z+' category NSG cover of former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, 'Z' cover of former Bihar chief minister Lalu Prasad, BJP MP and former minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy, former BJP members Kirti Azad and Shatrughan Sinha has been taken off from the central list or has been removed. The list also includes newly- appointed Himachal Pradesh Governor Kalraj Mishra, former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, two granddaughters and a grandson of former President Pranab Mukherjee, daughter and grandson of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

VIP Security Withdrawn For Several Leaders

Some other leaders whose security has been withdrawn include minister in Uttar Pradesh government Suresh Rana, Member of Parliament from Bihar's Vaishali seat Veena Devi, ex-MP from the state Uday Singh, Uttar Pradesh minister Brajesh Pathak, BJP politician Anupam Hazra, ISRO Chairman K Sivan, former scientific adviser R Chidambaram and Congress leader Deependra Hooda.

Reports inform that the Home Ministry  went through the threat perception reports of over 130 VIPs which were prepared by central security agencies after which the categories were either removed or reviewed. The CISF provides security to 72 VVIPs and VIPs under "Z Plus", "Z", "Y Plus", "Y" and "X" categories across India. Special Security Group (SSG), a wing of CISF, provides security to top VIPs.