Top-10 players with most hundreds in IPL history

·3-min read
Top-10 players with most hundreds in IPL history

It takes a pure masterclass to get to the three-figure mark in the shortest format of the game. New Zealand’s keeper-batsman and KKR opener was the first one to get to this list. Since then several other power hitters have added to the centuries collection in the tournament and each and every innings has been memorable. Here’s a look at the top-10 cricketers with the most hundreds in the cash-rich league:

6 - Chris Gayle

The left-handed batsman from Punjab Kings leads the record of centuries in the IPL. Chris Gayle has a score of six centuries throughout all seasons of the IPL. The ‘Universe Boss’, playing for the RCB, got his first hundred (102 not out) against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2011. Gayle scored his second (107) in the same year against Kings XI Punjab. In 2012, the dangerous batsman got his third century against Delhi Daredevils. He scored 128 not out for RCB. Gayle then got the daddy hundred when he smashed 175 not out against Pune Warriors in 2013. His 5th hundred came against Punjab. The hard-hitting batsman went to Punjab at his base price for the 11th edition, and in his second outing for the team, Gayle made 104 not out against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

5 - Virat Kohli

The RCB skipper, considered a modern-day batting maestro, has five IPL hundreds to his name and is second on the list behind Chris Gayle. In 2016, Virat Kohli was on fire, scoring four centuries in one season. The ‘run machine’ got his IPL hundreds against Kolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat Lions (twice), Rising Pune Supergiants, and Kings XI Punjab.

4 - David Warner

He is known to be one of the most destructive openers across all cricketing formats. Warner got his first two hundred playing for the Delhi Daredevils against KKR and Deccan Chargers. The left-handed batsman then joined Sunrisers Hyderabad and smashed two more against KKR and RCB.

4 - Shane Watson

Watson scored his first hundred playing for Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings in 2013. He got his second, 104 not out, against KKR in 2015. The Australian all-rounder then moved to Chennai Super Kings and got two more against Rajasthan and Hyderabad in 2018.

3 - AB de Villiers

The 360-degree batsman got his maiden hundred playing for Delhi Daredevils in 2009 against Chennai Super Kings. de Villiers got two more after moving to Royal Challengers Bangalore.

2 - Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar ‘Gabbar’ Dhawan has shown one of the most consistent performances since the maiden edition of the IPL. He played for Delhi Capitals when he made 101 runs against Chennai Super Kings and 106 runs against Kings XI Punjab.

2 - Ajinkya Rahane

Rahane is focused and determined on the pitch. In 2012 Rahane scored his first 100 against RCB, where he made 103 runs. In 2019, while still with RR, he scored 105 runs against Delhi Capitals.

2 - Brendon McCullum

The Kiwi keeper-batsman got the first hundred, playing for KKR, in the very first season against Royal Challengers Bangalore. McCullum scored his second century playing for CSK against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2 - Virender Sehwag

Viru is considered one of the most destructive batsmen of all time. Playing for Delhi Daredevils, the right-handed batsman got his first hundred against Chargers in 2011. Sehwag got his second century playing for Punjab against Chennai in 2014.

2 - KL Rahul

He is stylish. He’s got the temperament. He can go big. And his skills leading the Punjab unit shows he’s the leader too. KL got his first hundred against Mumbai Indians in 2009. One year later, Rahul added to that tally after smashing 132 not out against RCB in Dubai.

Glamorous auctions often lure away top players at a higher cost by the weaker teams every IPL season. It's a game of power and money, no doubt, but no skill is wasted on this pitch. The best players continue to perform and score their centuries, taking the IPL to a new high every year.