Meet the hat-trick heroes of IPL

·3-min read
Meet the hat-trick heroes of IPL

The entertaining IPL format has witnessed a total of 19 hat-tricks so far across all its seasons. The first hat-trick was achieved by Lakshmipathy Balaji for CSK against Kings XI Punjab in the year 2008. The novelty factor of the first two seasons saw a lot of adrenaline along with three hat-tricks in each season as repeated in 2017. Below is a list of the top 10 IPL hat-tricks:

1 — With 160 wickets to his name, Amit Mishra is the record holder of the most hat-tricks in IPL history. The leg-spinner also holds the record for three hat-tricks for three different teams. Playing for Delhi, Mishra got his first hat-trick against Deccan Chargers in 2008. His second came against Kings XI Punjab while he was associated with Deccan Chargers in 2011. He got his third playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad and against Pune Warriors India in 2013.

2Yuvraj Singh is second in line with a total of 36 wickets and two hat-tricks throughout the history of IPL. Both were in the year 2009 when he played for King XI Punjab. One was against RCB and the other one against Deccan Chargers.

3Makhaya Ntini has played only 9 IPL matches in which he has taken a total of 7 wickets. His hat-trick came in 2008 when he was part of CSK and bowled against KKR.

4 — Rajasthan Royals’ Ajit Chandila has played only 11 IPL matches. He has taken a total of 11 wickets with a hat-trick against Pune Warriors in 2012.

5 — Participating in 12 matches of the T20 series, Samuel Badree has taken a total of 11 wickets. He walked into the list of hat-trick bowlers in IPL in 2017 when he played for RCB against MI.

6Rohit Sharma has played a total of 200 IPL matches. In 2009, Sharma played for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians when he got his hat-trick.

7Sam Curran got his hat-trick in 2019 against Deccan Chargers when he bowled for KXIP. He has played a total of 23 matches, bowled 75 overs, and taken a total of 23 wickets in all IPL seasons.

8Andrew Tye has bowled a total of 103 overs in 27 IPL matches. His hat-trick bowling spell came in 2017 when he played for Gujarat Lions against Rising Pune Supergiants.

9 — With a total of 600 balls bowled in 33 matches, Pravin Tambe has taken a total of 28 wickets. He made it to the top ten hat-tricks with his fantastic performance in 2014 when he bowled for Rajasthan Royals against Kolkata Knight Riders.

10 Shreyas Gopal has bowled a total of 148.1 overs in 45 matches in the IPL. In 2019 Shreyas was part of Rajasthan Royals when he got his hat-trick against RCB.

There are currently eight teams participating in the T20 format of the Indian Premier League. Mumbai Indians remains the only team never to have scored a hat-trick in the IPL. The above is a list of ten IPL hat-tricks that have been followed by many more.