Orange Cap holders in each IPL season

·3-min read
Orange Cap holders in each IPL season

The Indian Premier League introduced the concept of the Orange Cap in its maiden season of 2008. The Orange Cap is presented to the batsman with the highest run-scorer of the season. The batsman who bagged the most runs in the tournament would have to wear the Cap while fielding throughout the season, while the actual Orange Cap award would go to the top run-scorer at the season finale. Below is a list of the Orange Cap holders in each IPL season:

2008: Shaun Marsh

Marsh played for Kings XI Punjab and scored 616 runs in the season, with the highest score of 115. He displayed a strike rate of 139.68 with one century and five half-centuries.

2009: Matthew Hayden

Part of the Chennai Super Kings, Hayden scored 572 runs with a strike rate of 144.81.

2010: Sachin Tendulkar

Playing for the Mumbai Indians, the leading batsman scored 618 runs and a strike rate of 132.61.

2011: Chris Gayle

The Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman scored 608 runs with the highest score of 107 runs at a strike rate of 183.13.

2012: Chris Gayle

Bagging the Orange Cap for two years in a row, Gayle scored 733 runs for RCB with 128 runs high and a strike rate of 160.74.

2013: Michael Hussey

'Mr Cricket' was part of the Chennai Super Kings line-up when he scored 733 runs with a strike rate of 129.5. His highest score of the season was a heart-wrenching 95 runs.

2014: Robin Uthappa

Batting for Kolkata Knight Riders, Robin Uthappa scored 660 runs with an 83 score high. His strike rate for the tournament was 137.78.

2015: David Warner

Warner scored 562 runs in 14 matches for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, with a strike rate of 156.54. The score included 65 fours and 21 sixes.

2016: Virat Kohli

The Bangalore skipper finished the season with 973 runs from 16 matches. The Indian captain played for RCB and scored a 126 run century.

2017: David Warner

Part of the Sunrisers Hyderabad contingent, Warner scored 641 runs from 14 matches, with a 126 run high-score and a strike rate of 141.81.

2018: Kane Williamson

The Kiwi batsman and skipper of Sunrisers Hyderabad hit a total of 735 runs in 17 matches, including 64 boundaries and 28 sixes.

2019: David Warner

The Sunrisers Hyderabad batsman played 12 matches and made 692 runs. The stint included one century and eight half-centuries.

2020: KL Rahul

The stylish batsman played 14 matches last season and made 670 runs and a 132 high. His strike rate was 129.34, dotted with 58 fours and 23 sixes.

The prestigious Orange Cap was a sign of acknowledgment for the hard work of the batsmen. Brendon McCullum became the first player to wear the Orange Cap on the field, while Shaun Marsh became the first award bearer. The above list of players has risen and shined to the occasion and won the title of Orange Cap holders in each IPL season.