IPL 2020: 4 teams with the strongest super over batsmen

Mohit Kalra

Rohit Sharma will lead MI in case of a tie-breaker

Super Over was first used in 2008 in a T20 match replacing bowl-out as the earlier tie-breaker. In super-over, the team batting second gets to bat first if the game ends with the scores level. Each team gets to play 6 balls and the team that outscores the other wins the game. A maximum of three batsmen are allowed to bat and only one bowler can take up the responsibility to deliver 6 balls.

The first choice of the three batsmen from each franchise has been selected keeping aside their probability of playing in the starting XI. If such a situation arises, the extra options that the team can go with are also mentioned.

#4 Mumbai Indians

Chris Lynn is known for tonking balls into stands

First Choice - Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, and Hardik Pandya

Other Options - Quinton de Kock, Chris Lynn, and Krunal Pandya

Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful opening batsmen in world cricket and his ability to accelerate exponentially makes him a dangerous contender to bat in the super over. The MI skipper is one of the most fluent in hitting the aerial shots in white-ball cricket.

Also see – World Test Championship points table

Chris Lynn has been one of the mainstays for KKR in the past and will be an obvious choice to bat in the super over for Mumbai Indians. The mighty Australian has all the power in the world and has a reputation for murdering the cricket ball.

Hardik Pandya has turned into a crucial death-overs batsman and holds the key for leading Mumbai Indians to a decent total. Coming to super over, the all-rounder will be a top contender to join the above two batsmen, ahead of Kieron Pollard. In case of unavailability of any of the above players, MI has plenty of choices in Pollard, Quinton de Kock, and Krunal Pandya.

#3 Kolkata Knight Riders

Andre Russell can go ballistic from ball 1

First Choice - Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, and Eoin Morgan

Other Options - Nitish Rana and Tom Banton

Andre Russell has been the backbone for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in terms of accelerating in the final overs and he has put a show on the display every time they needed him. The Caribbean cricketer has a career strike-rate of 186 and will be the number one choice for KKR when it comes to batting in the super over.

The skipper Dinesh Karthik has transformed into a ferocious hitter of the ball since making a comeback in the Indian team and is one of the pillars of KKR. Not only smashing the ball, but the ability to use angles for finding the gaps makes him even more deadly.

Eoin Morgan is a typical left-handed power hitter of the ball who can clear any fence around the world. He is the one KKR can bank on to join the above two whenever the game ends in a tie. KKR also has a couple of fine options in Nitish Rana and the English young sensation Tom Banton.

#2 Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers is a frightening sight for bowlers

First Choice - Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and Aaron Finch

Other Options - Chris Morris and Shivam Dube

Virat Kohli has reinvented himself as a cricketer compared to his early years. He has built more muscle and apart from timing the ball, he has also worked on smashing the ball powerfully, which has been evident in 2016 when he slammed 4 centuries in the season.

AB de Villiers is the most dangerous batsman, given his ability to muscle the ball over the straight boundary as well as playing unorthodox shots behind the wicket. He is the most difficult batsman to bowl to as a bowler and having him in the super over puts RCB in a very good position.

When it comes to T20s, Aaron Finch is an audacious hitter of the ball and his ability to accelerate from the first ball earns him a spot alongside the above two to bat in the super over for RCB. Apart from these three, RCB can also put their money on Chris Morris and youngster Shivam Dube if required.

#1 Kings XI Punjab

KXIP has the most dangerous set of batsmen for the super over

First Choice - KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, and Glenn Maxwell

Other Options - Nicholas Pooran, James Neesham, and K Gowtham

KL Rahul is one of the smoothest hitters in the shortest format of the game and his ability to hit the ball in any of the corners of the park makes him a difficult batsman to bowl at. The flashy opener exhibited his capacity in 2018 against the Delhi-based franchise - DC, when he slammed a 14-ball 50 which is the fastest in IPL history.

Chris Gayle is the most successful batsman in the history of T20 cricket and that has earned himself the self given the title of 'universe boss'. Despite turning 40 a few months ago, the T20 legend will be considered as the most explosive batsman going into IPL 2020.

Glenn Maxwell was the most successful batsman for KXIP when they reached the IPL final in 2014. The Australian cricketer has the strike rate of 161 in the cash-rich tournament and will be a key contender to bat in the super over.

The Preity Zinta co-owned side is blessed to have more firepower in Nicholas Pooran, James Neesham, and K Gowtham in their rank, if and when needed.

Also read: IPL 2020 | Ranking the batsmen of all the teams