IPL 2019: List of players released and retained by franchises

Rajdeep Saha

IPL 2019: List of players released and retained by franchises

16 Nov 2018: IPL 2019: List of players released and retained by franchises

The eight franchises of the Indian Premier League had a busy trade window.

Several players have been released with some franchises getting in players from other teams.

Most teams have retained their main pool of players.

With the IPL 2019 auction to be held next month, we now know the broad strokes of the strategy of each franchise.

Here's all you need to know.

Franchises: Franchises go bold with their decision making

The franchises made some big decisions ahead of the auction.

Several franchises have released a host of big names.

Players, who etched some stunning deals last season, were also shipped out.

It has been an interesting trade window and this will spice up the auction.

One should also look at the salary cap available as the franchises would look to reinforce their squads.

Mumbai: Mumbai Indians release 10 players, get in Quinton de Kock

Mumbai Indians released as many as ten players.

Mumbai have retained their core and one would feel they were smart about their decision making.

The biggest decision was to release four foreign stars Mustafizur, Cummins, Dananjaya and Duminy.

MI got in RCB's wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock, which looks like a risky decision.

They now need to get in bowlers.

Daredevils: Desperate Delhi Daredevils release some big names including Gambhir

Daredevils had acquired several big names last season. They now decided to rectify their mistakes.

Daredevils shipped out 13 players including veteran Gautam Gambhir.

5 foreigners which include the opener Jason Roy and Glenn Maxwell were released.

In all likelihood, the acquisition of Dhawan from SRH, resulted in Roy's exit.

Dhawan's buy was a smart decision by DD, given he adds the composure atop.

IPL 2019: RR, KKR go wise in trade window

Kolkata Knight Riders released 8 players that included 5 foreigners.

They also retained 13 names with majority of these players forming the playing XI last season.

They look settled and that bodes well.

Rajasthan Royals released 6 names and last year's million dollar man Jaydev Unadkat, was a part of it.

Aggressive Aussie batsman D'Arcy Short struggled big time and was shipped out.

KXIP: KXIP ship out non performers, another overhaul in store

KXIP looked solid on paper last season, but they fared poorly.

Once again, they will overhaul the majority of the squad for a fresh start.

12 players that include big guns such as Finch and Yuvraj have been shown the exit door.

Last year, they surprisingly retained Axar Patel, but they did away with him this time.

KXIP got in batsman Mandeep Singh.

IPL 12: CSK go simple, SRH release some big names

Champions CSK showed steel of nerves.

They hardly needed to do anything fancy, since they had a settled side.

Three fringe players were released and they didn't get in anyone.

2018 finalists SRH lost Dhawan and got 3 players from DD in exchange.

9 players were released including foreigners Hales, Brathwaite and Jordan.

Wriddhiman was rightly let go off as well.

RCB: Surprise move by RCB by releasing some key names

RCB's move in releasing players such as Woakes and Baz was pretty surprising.

The pair will be disappointed and so will the fans.

They got in KXIP's Marcus Stoinis and he will replace Woakes.

They let go off Sarfraz, who was retained last year. A total of 6 players were released.

RCB have retained the rest and the side still looks solid.

Fact: Salary cap available for each teams

Salary cap available for the teams: RCB- Rs. 18.15 crore, MI- Rs. 11.15 crore, Daredevils- Rs. 25.50 crore, SRH- Rs. 9.70 crore, CSK- Rs. 8.40 crore, KKR- Rs. 15.20 crore, KXIP- Rs. 36.20 crore, Royals- Rs. 20.95 crore