IPL 2019: 4 all-time batting records that could be broken this season

Shashank Srivastava

Virat Kohli

With Indian Premier League (IPL) around the corner, the entire nation is getting ready to get into the groove of some exciting cricket. On 23rd March 2019, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai will host the inaugural game between defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

With exciting T20 players from across the globe playing the league - Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Brendon McCullum, Steve Smith, Lasith Malinga, Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan and many more - this IPL edition promises to be bigger, better and more entertaining than ever before. Also considering the fact that it will be the last cricketing event before the marquee ICC World Cup 2019, it will be the perfect warm-up for fans as well as players.

Over the years, the cash-rich league has witnessed some incredible performances by players that have amazed the spectators and gone on to create history. Yet, just like every other record, these records will also eventually be broken.

Here's a look at four all-time IPL records that could be broken this year:

#1 Leading run scorer

Suresh Raina

With 172 innings (most IPL innings by any player), Suresh Raina proudly leads the run-scoring chart with 4,985 runs, at an average of 34.37. Though the CSK player is once again likely to play an integral role for the team with his batting, considering his recent form it appears doubtful for the 32-year-old player to sustain his ranking at the top of the chart. Especially given the fact that the forever in-form Virat Kohli is just 37 runs away. 

In just 155 Innings, the RCB captain has amassed 4,948 runs at a respectable average (38.35). Even if he chooses to skip a few games for managing his workload ahead of the World Cup, considering his sublime form, Kohli is likely to end up with the numero uno spot by the end of the season.

#2 Most fifties

Gautam Gambhir

In the T20 format, a quick fifty is as good as a century in ODIs. Up until today, the IPL has witnessed a total of 926 fifties, with Gautam Gambhir (36) and David Warner (36) leading the way. They are followed by Suresh Raina (35), batting maestro Virat Kohli (34) and Hitman Rohit Sharma (34).

With Ghambir calling it quits last year, he will no more participate in the IPL. And the fact that Warner is just coming off a controversial ban will mean that he will be a little rusty to start the tournament.

That would give enough opportunities for the close followers to gain a significant lead. Considering their recent form, it may be a very close competition between Virat and Rohit for the top position.

That said, Raina might also have something to say about that, given that he always seems to rediscover his form in the IPL.

#3 Most fours

Shikhar Dhawan

Another all-time IPL batting record proudly owned by Gautam Gambhir is the one for the most boundaries (491) over the years. Now since the 37-year-old has called it quits, he will not add any more boundaries to his tally, giving a very realistic opportunity to the next batsman on the list, Shikhar Dhawan (460).

Unless the Indian opener gets injured or misses a few matches, his flamboyant batting should ensure that 31 boundaries over the entire IPL season is no tough task. 

#4 Most centuries

Scoring a century isn’t an easy task in any format. It requires a lot more than just good batting skills.

Considering the speed of the T20 format, scoring a century becomes an extremely challenging job even for the best of players. It comes as no surprise that over the past 11 years, the IPL has only witnessed 52 centuries scored by just 32 players – clearly indicating the level of difficulty.

As of now, the Universe Boss Chris Gayle proudly owns the record of 6 centuries (111 innings), followed by none other than run-machine Virat Kohli with 4 centuries (155 innings). Scoring three or more centuries may appear an extremely daunting task, but considering his recent love affair with record-shattering, the RCB captain may well score a few - just like IPL 2016, where he slammed as many as four.