IPL 2017 Points Table, Team Standings & Match Results: MI, RPS, SRH and KKR qualify for playoffs

India.com Sports Desk
Catch updated IPL 2017 Points Table here

The league stage of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 is over. Mumbai Indians, Rising Pune Supergiant, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders qualify for playoffs. In the last league match, Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Delhi Daredevils and the result had no impact on the points table. Also Check- IPL 2017 Playoffs Schedule

The tenth season of IPL is currently underway as the tournament completes its one decade of existence this season. IPL 2017 is indeed a milestone in the tournament’s history. As usual eight teams- Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Gujarat Lions (GL), Mumbai Indians (MI), Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), Delhi Daredevils (DD) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will take part in the league. And needless to say, all of them will be eyeing to top the IPL 2017 points table.

Each team will play a total of 14 matches (seven home and away). After the league stage, top four teams on the points table will advance to playoffs. The top two teams (1 and 2) will face off in Qualifier 1 and winner will progress to final directly. Third and fourth placed teams on the IPL points table will play each other in the Eliminator. The loser of Qualifier 1 will then face the winner of Eliminator in Qualifier 2, winner of this fixture will take second finalist berth available. In short, teams finishing first and second on the IPL 2017 points table Will get two chances for making it to finals. Also Read- IPL 2017: Look at all-time records from nine editions gone by

IPL 2017 Points Table, Team Standings & Match Results

Position Team Played       Won Lost Points NRR
1 (Q) Mumbai Indians 14 10 4 20  +0.784
2 (Q) Rising Pune Supergiant 14 9 5 18 +0.176
3  (Q) Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 8 5 17 +0.599
4  (Q) Kolkata Knight Riders 14 8 6 16  +0.641
5 Kings XI Punjab 14 7 7 14 -0.009
6 Delhi Daredevils 14 7 7 12 -0.512
7 Gujarat Lions 14 4 10 8 -0.412
8 Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 3 10 7 -1.299

 (Updated till DD vs RCB IPL 2017 match 56, May 14)

Last season Gujarat Lions topped the IPL points table but eventually failed to qualify for finals after losing both the qualifiers. Sunrisers Hyderabad went on to win the tournament defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Each team will be awarded two points for a win and no point for a loss. In case of a tied match, winner of Super Over will take the winning points. In case of a No Result (rain) points will be divided between the contesting teams.  Net Run Rate will be taken into account if two or more teams finish with an equal number of points at the end of the league stage.