IPL 2017 Points Table, Team Standings & Match Results: Kings XI Punjab jump to second spot

Sylvester Tamang
Catch updated IPL 2017 Points Table here

Hashim Amla and Glenn Maxwell guided Kings XI to an 8-wicket victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore on Monday in Indore. This win was their second consecutive win.

Sunrisers Hyderabad remain on top of the league standings after 8 matches courtesy their superior Net Run Rate of +2.100.

The tenth season of IPL is currently underway as the tournament completes its one decade of existence this season.

IPL 2017 is indeed a milestone in the tournament’s history. Like any other edition, this season the competition between the teams is expected to be healthy. As usual eight teams- Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Gujarat Lions (GL), Mumbai Indians (MI), Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), Delhi Daredevils (DD) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) will take part in the league. And needless to say, all of them will be eyeing to top the IPL 2017 points table.

Also Check- Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 Schedule

Each team will play a total of 14 matches (seven home and away). After the league stage, top four teams on the points table will advance to playoffs. The top two teams (1 and 2) will face off in Qualifier 1 and winner will progress to final directly. Third and fourth placed teams on the IPL points table will play each other in the Eliminator.

The loser of Qualifier 1 will then face the winner of Eliminator in Qualifier 2, winner of this fixture will take second finalist berth available. In short, teams finishing first and second on the IPL 2017 points table Will get two chances for making it to finals.

Also Read- IPL 2017: Look at all-time records from nine editions gone by

IPL 2017 Points Table, Team Standings & Match Results

Position Team Played Won Lost Points NRR
1  Sunrisers Hyderabad 2 2 0 4 +2.100
2 Kings XI Punjab 2 2 0 4 +1.598
3 Kolkata Knight Riders 2 1 1 2 +1.279
4  Mumbai Indians 2 1 1 2 -0.025
5 Rising Pune Supergiant 2 1 1 2 -0.136
6 Royal Challengers Bangalore 3 1 1 2 -1.206
7 Delhi Daredevils 1 0 1 0 -0.750
8 Gujarat Lions 2 0 2 0 -2.731

Last season Gujarat Lions topped the IPL points table but eventually failed to qualify for finals after losing both the qualifiers. Sunrisers Hyderabad went on to win the tournament defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Each team will be awarded two points for a win and no point for a loss. In case of a tied match, winner of Super Over will take the winning points. In case of a No Result (rain) points will be divided between the contesting teams.  Net Run Rate will be taken into account if two or more teams finish with an equal number of points at the end of the league stage.