IPL 2017: Five bowlers who are in contention to win Purple Cap

Sudipta Biswas
There are number of international bowlers who will be vying for the prestigious cap this time around.

The tenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), is all set to begin from April 5 with the first match to be held at Hyderabad between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The franchise-based Twenty 20 tournament is arguably the best T20 league in the world. One of the biggest attractions of the 47 days long event is who will win the Purple cap for best bowling performance. The prestigious Purple cap will be donned by the ones who have the highest wicket in the tournament. But, the cap will change many heads because the highest wicket taker’s position will change constantly in this highly competitive tournament.  The winner of the cap will be the one who has the highest wickets to his name after the tournament ends.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the winner of the purple cap last year with 23 wickets from 17 matches. There are number of international bowlers who will be vying for the prestigious cap this time around. Here are few of them who can be the game changers with the ball for their teams:

Also read: Rising Pune Supergiant IPL 2017: Complete squad, key players and team profile of RPS

Yuzvendra Chahal

The tweaker is the leading wicket-taker for Royal Challengers Bangalore for the last two years now. He played a key role throughout RCB’s campaign in IPL 9. He narrowly missed the Purple Cap as Sunrisers Hyderabad bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar overtook him by four wickets. In these two years, he has been in the contention of leading bowler. He finished in top three, but failed to win the ‘Purple Cap’.


Rashid Khan

The 18-year-old Afghanistan spinner is all set to make his IPL debut. Rashid was picked by Sunrisers Hyderabad for Rs 4 crore at the IPL auction. He has bowled consistently well for his national team and off later he picked up nine wickets in three matches in the T20I series against Ireland. He has a good caliber to mark his feet in the cash-rich league. He is the only Associate player to feature in the top five in ICC T20I bowlers’ rankings. He has a good chance to win purple cap this time around. Also read: IPL 2017: Big blow for RCB, injured KL Rahul out of season 10

Imran Tahir

The South African bowler is one of the best in the business. He is currently the No. 1 Twenty 20 International (T20I) bowler. Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) brought him in the squad replacing him with Mitchell Marsh. In the last season, the leggie played for Delhi Daredevils, but his performance was not very impressive.

In the auction, he didn’t find any buyer, but Mitchell Marsh’s injury opened a door for him. He has been playing IPL for three years now. In 2015 IPL, he was the joint highest wicket-taker for Delhi with Nathan Coulter-Nile. He has taken 15 wickets in 10 matches in that season.  This season he will add balance to the RPS team as his leg spin in the dusty Indian surfaces will work very well. No doubt, he is one of the strong contenders for the Purple Cap.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The right arm medium pacer won the Purple Cap in the last season for his 23-wicket haul in 17 matches. He played a key role in Sunrisers Hyderabad’s maiden IPL trophy victory. His lethal swing with subtle pace will be once again useful for his team. Last season, he and Mustafizur Rahman posed a threat to opposition teams and once again team management will rely on him for early wickets.If he repeats last year’s feat then surely there should ne no surprises as he is capable of that. Also read: IPL 2017: AB De Villiers to captain Royal Challengers Bangalore in Virat Kohli’s absence

Dwayne Bravo

The West Indies allrounder has won the Purple Cap twice during previous editions.  Bravo is the most consistent cricketer in the IPL over last nine seasons. Since his debut in IPL, he has always been in the contention for the Purple Cap. He has won Purple Caps while playing for now suspended Chennai Super Kings. He has total 122 wickets in 106 matches. In 2013 season, he has taken 32 wickets in 18 matches, his highest haul in a season.