Inter Milan need three wins to bag Serie A title

Rajdeep Saha
·2-min read

Inter Milan need three wins to bag Serie A title
Inter Milan need three wins to bag Serie A title

22 Apr 2021: Inter Milan need three wins to bag Serie A title

Italian top-flight club Inter Milan are on the verge of winning the Serie A 2020-21 title, ending the dominance of Juventus.

Notably, Inter had last won the domestic league title back in 2010.

They lead the current Serie A standings by 10 points over second-placed AC MIlan.

With just six gameweeks to go, Inter are three wins away from a title win.

Here's more.

Serie A: Inter draw against Spezia after Milan lose

Inter drew 1-1 against Spezia away to keep their Scudetto race in line.

Diego Farias' early goal put Spezia in front but Ivan Perisic leveled for Antonio Conte's side in the 39th minute.

His goal helped Inter seal a point.

This happened after Milan had lost 2-1 at home against Sassuolo.

Inter: Inter three wins away from maiden Scudetto since 2010

Inter have collected 76 points from 32 games this season. They have registered 23 wins, seven draws, and two losses.

Inter have netted the second-highest number of goals (71), besides conceding the joint-fewest alongside Juventus (29).

If Milan win all their remaining games, they will finish on 84 points (currently 66).

Inter, who have 76, need nine points to finish on 85.

Duo: Lukaku and Martinez have done well for Inter

For Inter, Romelu Lukaku has scored 21 Serie A goals this season.

The former Manchester United striker is second on the list in terms of goal-scorers after Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus (25).

However, with nine assists under his belt, Lukaku has the most goal involvements (30).

Meanwhile, fellow Inter forward Lautaro Martinez has bagged 15 goals and five assists.

Titles: Inter on the verge of winning 19th Serie A crown

Inter have won 18 Serie A honors so far and are tied with rivals Milan (also 18).

By winning the title this year, Inter will steer clear over their city rivals.

Inter's last Serie A triumph came in 2009-10.

From 2011-12 to 2019-20, Juventus dominated the Serie A, winning nine successive honors.

However, Juve's run is set to get over.