India vs New Zealand: Shikhar Dhawan’s injury a blessing in disguise for Sanju Samson, Prithvi Shaw?

Kunal Joshi
prithvi shaw, sanju samson, shikhar dhawan, dhawan injury, indian cricket team, india vs nz, ind vs nz 1st t20i, ind vs nz when to watch, ind vs nz where to watch, hotsatr, star sports dream 11, dreamm 11 team, pitch report, ind vs nz, india vs new zealand, under 19 world cup, new zealand vs india, new zealand, eden park, ind vs nz squad 2020, india a vs nz a, prithvi shaw, india tour of new zealand 2020 squad, ind a vs nz a, new zealand time, india tour of new zealand, ranji trophy, nz vs ind, india upcoming matches, india squad for new zealand, india new zealand, india squad for new zealand tour, india tour of new zealand 2020 schedule, indian team for new zealand tour, india vs new zealand 2020 schedule, dhawan, india a vs new zealand, india versus new zealand,

Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the ODI and T20I series against New Zealand after suffering an injury during the third ODI against Australia in Bengaluru. Dhawan’s injury has paved way for Sanju Samson and Prithvi Shaw into the Indian squad for the T20 and ODI series. While Shaw will be part of the 3-match ODI series against the Kiwis, Samson has been included in the 5-match T20I series.

Prithvi Shaw has been out of the Indian team for quite some time. The young opening batsman got injured in Australia last year. He had a good IPL season but a doping controversy saw him being banned by the BCCI. Leaving scandal behind, Shaw would be hoping to make a statement with the bat and perform well in the upcoming series against New Zealand

On the other hand, Sanju Samson, who was was not included in the team for the just-concluded ODI series against Australia, will once again get a chance to prove himself and stake claim for the wicket keeper’s spot in the T20 team. Virat Kohli and the team management will be looking to find the right balance in the upcoming tour as they look to prepare for the WorldT20 set to be held in Australia from October this year.

It will be interesting to see how Samson and Shaw grab this opportunity.

India T20I Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washinton Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep SainiKL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK).

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Kedar Jadhav.