Indian captain Virat Kohli went on to score his 25th Test century on Sunday, but was finally dismissed for 123 by Pat Cummins. But his wicket was a point of controversy on Day 3 at Perth.
Kohli went for a drive towards cover but only managed to edge it to Peter Handscomb at third slip, who took a low catch. Handscomb signalled that he had caught the catch clean but the centurion was not convinced. On-field Umpire Kumar Dharmasena went upstairs for the decision, with the soft signal being ‘Out’. After replays proved to be inconclusive to overturn the decision, Third Umpire Nigel Llong stuck to Dharmasena’s decision and Kohli had to walk.
Here’s the catch:
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) December 16, 2018
The incident sparked a massive debate on Twitter, with verdicts varying from individual to individual.
"I've got no doubt at all that's actually hit his fingers on the full. That hasn't bounced before him." - Ricky Ponting
— 7 Cricket (@7Cricket) December 16, 2018
I know there will be a lot of debate on the Kohli dismissal but it is critical to note that the law says there must be conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field umpire's decision. Kohli thought it bounced but historically those have been given out (more)
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) December 16, 2018
Any complaints regarding the Kohli dismissal should be focussed on the soft signal rule—there’s no way the on-field umpire has a better view than the TV umpire—not the decision itself. It was not clear either way. A controversial decision; but not a terrible one. #AUSvIND
— Freddie Wilde (@fwildecricket) December 16, 2018
Increased use of technology will inevitably create vexing situations like Kohli dismissal we just saw: pain or gain depending which way you want to see it. What’s important is whether technology makes the game fairer. Majority of players believe so.
— Cricketwallah (@cricketwallah) December 16, 2018
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) December 16, 2018
— Mohandas Menon (@mohanstatsman) December 16, 2018
— Kanav Bali (@BaliKanav) December 16, 2018
One batsman walked the other didn’t, both out. Handscomb catch was soft out & went to third umpire given out, Rahul catch given out on field hazelwood walked no questions. Scoreboard says out for both so happy with both decisions. pic.twitter.com/DQr70kZ7uT
— Mitchell Johnson (@MitchJohnson398) December 16, 2018