India vs Australia: KL Rahul Named Vice-Captain for Limited-over Squads; Rohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma Miss Out

Cricketnext Staff
·2-min read

India Vs Australia squad: KL Rahul returned to the Indian Test squad for the tour of Australia starting late next month and was also named the vice-captain for the ODI and T20I teams in the absence of injured Rohit Sharma as the national selectors announced the squads late on Monday night.

The committee met via video-conference to select teams and decided to hand a maiden call-up to spinner Varun Chakravarthy in the T20I squad. Rohit and Ishant Sharma have not been named in any squads and a BCCI release stated that the medical team will continue to monitor their progress.

Rohit had picked up a hamstring injury last week and has missed two Mumbai Indians game while Ishant Sharma was ruled out of the tournament with an abdominal muscle tear.

Pacer Mohammed Siraj is the fifth speedster in the Test squad.

There weren't any surprises save for Chakravarthy's inclusion in the T20 squad after his stellar show for KKR in the current IPL. He has already picked up a five-for and has a total of 12 scalps to his credit this season so far. The tour of Australia comprises three T20 Internationals, as many ODIs and four Tests. It is set to get underway from November 27.

The touring party will also feature four additional bowlers - Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kartik Tyagi, Ishan Porel, and T. Natarajan.

Team India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy

Team India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

Team India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj