India At UNSC: Country Gets Support of 55 Asia-Pacific Countries For Non-Permanent Membership in United Nations Security Council

Team Latestly

New Delhi, June 26: In a big diplomatic win for India, 55 countries of the Asia-Pacific Group at the United Nations (UN) unanimously endorsed its candidature for a non-permanent seat in the Security Council for a two-year term in 2021-22. India’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the UN Syed Akbaruddin tweeted on Wednesday about the Asia-Pacific countries support to the nation. India, Germany, Brazil, Japan 'Absolutely Needed' at UNSC as Permanent Members: France.

Also Read | US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo Meets PM Narendra Modi in New Delhi; Terrorism, H1B Visa, Russia Deal, Iran Situation on Agenda

Akbaruddin also thanked the Asia-Pacific nations for supporting India’s candidature. He wrote, “A unanimous step. Asia-Pacific Group @UN unanimously endorses India’s candidature for a non-permanent seat of the Security Council for 2 year term in 2021/22. Thanks to all 55 members for their support.” Along with his tweet, Akbaruddin also shared a video showing the flags of the countries which supported India. India Must Have Permanent Seat in UN Security Council: German Envoy Walter J Lindner.

Syed Akbaruddin's Tweet:

Also Read | Highlights of Narendra Modi's Reply to Motion of Thanks on President's Address in Lok Sabha: Jabs Opposition, Recalls Emergency, Lauds Electorate

The countries which endoresed India include Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, and Cyprus. The development came days after PM Narendra Modi attended the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan. Vietnam Backs India's Permanent Membership in UNSC.

Asia-Pacific has three seats in the UNSC – one permanent and two non-permanent seats. China already has permanent membership in the UN. Meanwhile, the past, India served as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for seven times: 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, 1991-92 and 2011-12.