India lead with five players in ICC Champions Trophy Team of the Tournament

Johannesburg, June 26 (ANI): India has reportedly the most number of representatives in the ICC Champions Trophy Team of the Tournament with five members after beating England by five runs in the final, with team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni being named as the leader of the team.

According to Sport24, all-rounder Ryan McLaren, who scored 83 runs and took eight wickets in the tournament, is reportedly the only South African named in the team, which lost by seven wickets to hosts England in the semi-finals.

The report further said that the team was selected by a five-man ICC selection panel comprising of ICC General Manager of Cricket and Chairperson of the Event Technical Committee Geoff Allardice, former Indian fast bowler Javagal Srinath and Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar.

The panel also included journalists Scyld Berry and Stephen Brenkley.

Stating that it was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of eleven players from the quality of players featuring in the tournament, Allardice said that as the selection criteria was the performance in the Champions Trophy, some of the best players had to be left out.

ICC Champions Trophy Team of the Tournament: (in batting order): 1. Shikhar Dhawan (India), 2. Jonathan Trott (England), 3. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), 4. Virat Kohli (India), 5. Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), 6. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain) (India), 7. Ravindra Jadeja (India), 8. Ryan McLaren (South Africa), 9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India) , 10. James Anderson (England), 11. Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand).

England's Joe Root was named as the 12th man for the squad, the report added. (ANI)