ICC World Test Championship 2019-21 Points Table Updated: New Zealand Move to Fifth Place After Beating India by 10 Wickets in Wellington

Team Latestly

India suffered their first defeat in the ICC World Test Championship 2019-21 as New Zealand win the first Test of the series in Wellington. India were bundled out for just 191 runs in the second innings, and thus New Zealand required only nine runs to win the Test. With this win, New Zealand move to fifth place on the ICC World Test Championship points table and overtake Sri Lanka. Despite the defeat, India continues to hold the top spot while Australia are on second positions. West Indies and Bangladesh have not opened their account yet and occupy the bottom two places. Check out the full points table below.  ICC World Test Championship Officially Announced, Here’s All You Need to Know About WTC.

Also Read | India vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score, 1st Test 2020, Day 4: Get Latest Match Scorecard and Ball-by-Ball Commentary Details for IND vs NZ Test From Wellington

This is the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, which started on August 1 with England and Australia facing each other in the first game of a five-match Ashes Test series. The Championship features 9 of the 12 Test Playing Nations with new Test entrants Ireland and Afghanistan excluded from the competition. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies are the nine teams that will be participating in WTC. The nine teams together will compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series, which will be played over the next two years. Another member Zimbabwe has been suspended due to alleged corruption charges.  ICC World Test Championship Schedule 2019-2021: List of Cricket Matches to Be Played Under WTC.

ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021 Points Table

Teams M W L T D N/R PTS
India 8 7 1 0 0 0 360
Australia 10 7 2 0 1 0 296
England 9 5 3 0 1 0 146
Pakistan 5 2 2 0 1 0 140
New Zealand 6 2 4 0 0 0 120
Sri Lanka 4 1 2 0 1 0 80
South Africa 7 1 6 0 0 0 24
West Indies 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh 3 0 3 0 0 0 0

All nine teams will play at least one Test series against six of the other eight teams and each series will vary between two and five Test matches. Every team will play six series each (three at home and three away series) but will not be playing the same number of matches. A side can accumulate a maximum of 120 points from a single bilateral series. Top two placed teams at the end of the league stage will contest in the final at Lord’s on June 2021. International Cricket Council (ICC) also laid down the number of points that will be available from each series.

Also Read | Live Cricket Streaming of India vs New Zealand 1st Test 2020 Day 4 on Hotstar: Check Live Cricket Score Online, Watch Free Telecast of IND vs NZ Match on Star Sports

Teams will receive no points for series victories but for Test match results. Points will be equally distributed in every series, regardless of the draws. Teams will, therefore, receive maximum points on winning a Test match, while there will be minimum points on dead rubbers. Points will also vary depending on the length of a series, an ICC statement said. In a five-match series, therefore, 20 percent of the points will be available each match, while in a two-match series, 50 percent of the points will be available.

For example, a two-match series will mean 60 points for each Test win, while a three-match series will give 40 points for each victory. Similarly, a four-match and five-match Test series will offer 30 and 24 points each for a Test win. A tie will be 50 percent of the points available, whilst a draw will be a 3:1 points ratio.

The World Test Championship is in line with ICC’s goal to have an elite premiership tournament for all three formats of international cricket. It was first proposed by the apex cricket in 2013 as a replacement for the ICC Champions Trophy but met dead ends in 2013 and 2017 before hitting the road this year. The ICC World Test Championship was officially launched on July 29, 2019, following the conclusion of the 2019 Cricket World Cup. The first Test Championship will run from 2019-2021, while the second will take place from July 2021 to June 2023.