Host Uganda names squad for IAAF World Cross Country meet

Indo Asian News Service

Kampala, March 15 (IANS) Uganda has named its squad that will take part in the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Cross Country Championship scheduled to be held in the country later this month.

The 2012 Olympics marathon gold medal winner Stephen Kiprotich heralds the team of Philip Kipyeko, Timothy Toroitich, Stephen Kiisa, Abdalah Kibet Mande and team captain Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei, reports Xinhua news agency.

"We have picked a very strong team that is still under going training," Uganda Athletics Federation President Dominic Otuchet told Xinhua in an interview on Tuesday.

Beatrice Ayikoru, the Secretary General of UAF said they expect a competitive championship from the likes of Kenya, Ethiopia and Eritrea who have good teams.

Over 300 athletes from across the globe are expected to compete at the biennial event, which is the oldest event in the IAAF world series. Uganda beat Bahrain in the bid to host the Championship.

Other countries that have confirmed participation include China, United States, Morocco, Algeria, Comoros, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Iraq, Britain, Japan, Canada, Australia, Brazil, Peru, France, Spain, Italy and Sri Lanka.

Uganda team

Senior men: Stephen Kiprotich, Philip Kipyeko, Timothy Toroitich, Abdalah Kibet Mande, Stephen Kiisa, Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei.

Senior women: Mercyline Chelangat, Racheal Zena Chebet, Stella Chesang, Doreen Chesang, Doreen Chesang, Doreen Chemutai, Emily Chebet

Junior men: Jacob Kiplimo, Titus Kwemoi Given, Victor Kiplangat, Elisha Chemutai, Kevin Kibet, Mathew Chekrui.

Junior women: Peruth Chemutai, Esther Chekwemoi, Sarah Chelangat, Janat Chemusto, Adha Munuleya, Scarlet Chemos.

Relay team: Winne Nanyondo, Geofrey Ruto, Docus Ajok, Ronald Musagala.