Hockey India names 48 players for the national camp

Rodney Dsouza

Hockey India names 48 players for the national camp

25 May 2018: Hockey India names 48 players for the national camp

Hockey India has named 48 players for a 21-day national camp.

The camp is scheduled to commence from May 28 at the Sports Authority of India centre in Bengaluru.

The national camp is aimed at helping players gear up for the FIH men's Champions Trophy in the Netherlands.

The players were shortlisted from a larger pool of 55 players.

Selecting the best: Camp being held to shortlist best players for Champions Trophy

The 21-day national camp is aimed at individual player-assessment and improvement, ahead of the Champions Trophy which will be held from June 23 onwards.

The players will work with chief coach Harendra Singh.

Players would be selected based on their fitness and recent performance.

The list includes 6 goalkeepers, 14 defenders, 13 mid-fielders and 15 forwards.

Fact: Coach Harendra Singh is confident of naming a strong squad

"We have a very strong pool of players to choose from for the Champions Trophy. Since this is the last edition of the prestigious event, there is no doubt we want to be part of history by standing on the podium," coach Harendra Singh said.

Details: Who are the players?

Goalkeepers: Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera, Krishan Bahadur, Vikas Dahiya, Jagdeep Dayal and Prashant Chauhan.

Defenders: Harmanpreet, Rupinder, Gurinder, Varun Kumar, Kothajit, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra, Nilam Sanjeep, Dipsan Tirkey, Gurjinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Gowda and Anand Lakra

Mid-fielders: Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Sumit, Simranjit, Nilakanta Sharma, Sardar Singh, Hardik, Lalit Kumar, Raj Kumar, Amon Mirash Tirkey, Dharminder, Manpreet and Vivek Prasad.

Fact: 15 forwards among the pool of 48 players

S V Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Sumit Kumar, Mohd. Umar, Abharan Sudev Belimagga, Mohammed Raheel Mouseen, Armaan Qureshi, Sukhjeet Singh, Gagandeep Singh Sr., Pardeep Singh, Maninderjit Singh.