Himanshu Rana Replaces Prithvi Shaw, to Captain India in U-19 Asia Cup

India.com Sports Desk
1 / 1

BCCI’s Official Website Offline After Domain Not Renewed

The domain was valid from 2-2-2006 to 2-2-2019. The update date, however, happened to be February 3, 2018. The board's website was dysfunctional until Sunday evening and even more embarrassment as the senior national men's team was playing against South Africa.

New Delhi: Himanshu Rana has replaced Prithvi Shaw as the captain of the Indian U-19 team for the Asia Cup to be held in Malaysia. The tournament will run for 12 days and will begin on November 9. The selectors have decided to go against the selection of Shaw, so that he can get a look in the Ranji Trophy, a more competitive arena having the big boys around.

The tournament was to take place in India but was later shifted after Pakistan refused to travel here.

“The selectors were of the opinion that 17-year-old Prithvi Shaw, who recently scored a century (154) in the Duleep Trophy final, should play in the ongoing Ranji Trophy,” said the BCCI in a statement.

A BCCI official, who did not wish to be quoted, said the decision was taken in consultation with India A and U-19 coach Rahul Dravid, who wants the rising Mumbai batsman to focus more on Ranji Trophy.

Shaw, who hit a hundred on First-Class debut in last year’s Ranji final between Mumbai and Tamil Nadu, also struck a match-winning century in the Duleep Trophy final last month.

The Squad:

Himanshu Rana (captain), Abhishek Sharma (vice-captain), Atharva Taide, Manjot Kalra, Salman Khan, Anuj Rawat, Harvik Desai, Riyan Parag, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Tanush Kotian, Darshan Nalkande, Vivekanand Tiwary, Aditya Thakare, Mandeep Singh. (With PTI inputs)