Heights of sycophancy? Andhra MLA takes oath in the name of Jagan

·2-min read

Taking sycophancy to new heights, a newly elected member of Andhra Pradesh Assembly belonging to YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) on Wednesday took oath in the name of Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. However, the Pro-term Speaker Sambangi Appala Naidu did not entertain the oath. The legislator then took the oath in the name of god.

While all, including Jagan Mohan Reddy, took oath as MLAs in the name of god, K Sridhar Reddy the legislator from Nellore decided to be sworn in in the name of God and also in the name of Jagan Reddy.

Pro tem Speaker Appala Naidu later made the MLA from Nellore Rural constituency take the oath again as per the Assembly rules. The oath or affirmation is administered to the members under Article 188 of the Constitution and Rule 5-A of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly. The legislators are expected to take oath in the name of god or give “solemn affirmation” owing allegiance to the Constitution.

However, Sridhar claimed that some TDP MLAs in the past had taken oath in the name of NT Rama Rao and it was allowed then. “What is wrong if I consider my leader as my god?”.

The Deputy Chief Minister Amjad Basha took the oath in the name of 'Allah', the Arabic language term for god.

On the first day of the first session of the newly elected Assembly, all but one MLA took the oath. Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy was the first to take the oath.

G. Srinivasa Reddy, YSRCP MLA from Narsaraopet constituency, could not attend the session due to personal reasons.

Leader of the Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N. Chandrababu Naidu took the oath after Jagan Reddy.

Naidu and other members of the TDP were clad in yellow, the colour of the party's flag, while YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) MLAs wore the party scarves.

T. Sitaram will be elected as Speaker on Thursday while Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan will address the House on Friday. The Assembly session that started on Wednesday will last for five days.