Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP poised for sweep; AAP, AIMIM make gains, Congress crumbles

FP Staff
·5-min read

The BJP is poised to make a clean sweep in elections to all six civic municipal corporations of Gujarat with victories in 458 of the 576 seats for which polling was held on 21 February.

The counting of votes, which began early >today (Tuesday, 23 February), is still underway.

Congress, the main Opposition party, is set to win only 44 of the declared seats, the State Election Commission said.

The Congress has not won a single seat in Surat where the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), a new entrant, made impressive inroads by winning 27 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party has won three seats in Jamnagar.

The All-India Majlis-e-Ittehadul-Muslimeen, which contested 21 seats in AMC, won eight seats, capturing all of them from the Congress.

A total of 192 seats in Ahmedabad, 72 in Rajkot, 64 in Jamnagar, 52 in Bhavnagar, 76 in Vadodara and 120 in Surat were up for grabs.

image (10)-min
image (10)-min

The BJP has won 134 seats in Ahmedabad corporation, 68 in Rajkot, 50 in Jamnagar, 44 in Bhavnagar, 69 in Vadodara and 93 in Surat. The Congress has won 10 seats in Ahmedabad, four in Rajkot, 11 in Jamnagar, eight in Bhavnagar, seven in Vadodara and zero seats in Surat.

The AAP, which had fielded 470 candidates across six corporations, won 27 seats in Surat. Its workers celebrated by cutting cakes at the party office.

In 2015, the BJP won a majority in all six corporations with 390 out of 572 seats. The Congress won 175 seats while others had won seven seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday termed the victory "very special" and said for a party that has been serving in a state for over two decades to record such a phenomenal win is noteworthy.

He said the results of municipal elections clearly show the unwavering faith people have in politics of development and good governance.

This content is not available due to your privacy preferences.
Update your settings here to see it.

Home Minister Amit Shah said, "Municipal corporation poll results show that Gujarat has again established itself as BJP's stronghold. BJP continues to carry out the 'vikas yatra' started in the leadership of Modi Ji. Today's results are one of the best results in Gujarat."

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel expressed gratitude to the voters and BJP workers for the results.

"The grand victory of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the elections of six municipal corporations is the victory of the people of Gujarat. "This is a grand victory of the politics of development started by Hon'ble Prime Minister @narendramodi," tweeted Rupani in Gujarati.

The people of Gujarat have provided "a subject" to political analysts who can study how the concept of anti-incumbency does not apply in the state, he said.

"Many thanks and congratulations to all the winning candidates, BJP office-bearers, workers and the voters of Gujarat for the glorious victory of Bharatiya Janata Party in the elections," tweeted Nitin Patel.

Celebrations were underway in the AAP camp as well.

Delhi Chief Minister and AAP convenor Arvind Kejriwal announced that he will hold a roadshow on 26 February in Surat, where his party registered impressive gains in the civic body polls.

In a tweet in Hindi, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief thanked the people of Gujarat for ushering in an era of "new politics" in the state.

He added that the people of Gujarat have voted for the politics of work as they are fed up with the politics of the BJP and the Congress.

"The people of Gujarat wanted an alternative and the AAP has emerged as a key alternative to the present parties. Now the upcoming Assembly election will be fought between the Aam Aadmi Party and the BJP," the chief minister said.

His deputy Manish Sisodia also took to Twitter, saying, "The kind of love and support the people of Gujarat have shown, heartfelt thanks to each voter. All of us will work together towards 'kam ki rajneeti' (politics of work)."

"We will raise public issues on the streets as well as in the Assembly. The people of Surat have done a great job. The people of Gujarat are upset with the BJP, they do not trust the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party has emerged as their only hope," he said in a statement.

AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi addressed a public meeting in Gujarat's Godhra and Modasa.

Meanwhile, there was no official statement from Congress national leadership at the time of writing the article.

Earlier in the day, Congress cadres had stormed the counting center in Surat, according to News18 Gujarat. The party had alleged that the seals of the EVM machines were broken at Ward 26 Godadra Dindoli in Surat. It had also been alleged that the machines have been replaced.

In a separate incident, Congress workers, angry at the party not winning a single seat in Surat, created ruckus at the office in the city. They burned the effigies of Congress' city leaders Babu Raika and Kadir Pirzada, News18 reported.

Also See: Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Updates: BJP sweeps polls, AAP, AIMIM make inroads on Congress' expense

Punjab Municipal Election Result 2021: Congress wins six of seven municipal corporations; BJP loses ground in Pathankot

Punjab Municipal Election Results: Repolling ordered in two polling booths in SAS Nagar

Read more on India by Firstpost.