‘Growing Together Stronger’ Another Name of GST Spirit, Says Narendra Modi

India.com News Desk
1 / 1

Narendra Modi Invites Suggestions For Independence Day Speech, Says ‘I’m Voice of 125 Crore Indians’

This year India will celebrate 70 years of Independence and the Prime Minister will address the nation from Red Fort.

New Delhi, July 17: The Monsoon Session of Parliament is likely to be a stormy affair with opposition parties all set to corner the Narendra Modi government over a range of issues pertaining to national security, foreign policy and others. Hopeful of a productive session, Modi said, “Today the Monsoon Session begins. Like the Monsoon brings hope, this session also brings same spirit of hope.”

After ruling and opposition parties came together to pass the Goods and Service Tax Bill, the new tax regime was launched on the midnight of July 1. “GST shows the good that can be achieved when all parties come together and work for the nation. ‘Growing together stronger’ is another name of GST spirit. I hope Monsoon Session will run with GST spirit,” Modi said.

The session also holds importance as the new President and Vice President will be elected. The Presidential election will be held today and the result will be declared on July 20 in which NDA’ Ram Nath Kovind is up against opposition parties’ candidate Meira Kumar. The Vice Presidential election will be held on August 5 and the result will be declared on August 5.

Also read: Parliament Monsoon Session LIVE blog

Eighteen opposition parties are expected to raise the military stand-off with China, the law and order situation in Kashmir in the wake of the terror attack on Amarnath Yatra pilgrims and incidents of lynching over beef controversy and suicide of farmers in some states. The Opposition parties include the Congress, CPI-M, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, Nationalist Congress Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Janata Dal-United, Rashtriya Janata Dal and DMK among others.

Both houses of Parliament are unlikely to transact any business on the first day on account of the death of members — Vinod Khanna (Lok Sabha) and Anil Dave and P Goverdhan Reddy (Rajya Sabha). Voting for the new President will also take place today in which 776 Parliamentarians will vote.