Govt. launches Direct Benefit Transfer scheme for LPG consumers(Update)

Tumkur (Bangalore), June 1 (ANI): In line with the government's decision to launch Direct Benefit Transfer for LPG (DBTL) scheme in 20 high Aadhaar coverage districts from June 1, Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dr. M. Veerappa Moily formally launched the scheme on Saturday at Tumkur near Bangalore to mark the occasion.

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) chairman Nandan Nilekani were also present at the launch along with other dignitaries.

The scheme was simultaneously flagged-off by Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister

Kiran Kumar Reddy in a function in Hyderabad that Minister of State for Petroleum and Natural Gas P. Lakshmi presided over.

With this, DBTL scheme has become operational in 18 districts of the country. The subsidy on LPG cylinders in the districts would be provided directly to consumers in their Aadhaar linked bank accounts. Over 67 lakh LPG consumers in these districts will benefit from the scheme.

All Aadhaar linked domestic LPG consumers will get an advance in their bank account as soon as they book the first subsidized cylinder before delivery. As soon as, the first subsidized cylinder is delivered to such consumers, the next subsidy will again get credited in their bank account, which can then be available for the purchase of the next subsidized cylinder at market rate.

All LPG consumers who have not linked their Aadhaar number to LPG consumer number and their bank account will have three month grace period from date of launch to do so. During this period, they will continue to get the LPG cylinders at subsidized rate, as they are getting today, up to the cap of 9 cylinders.

After the end grace period i.e. with effect from 01.09.2013, LPG cylinders will be sold to all domestic LPG consumers at market price. However, the subsidy will be transferred to only those who have linked Aadhaar number to LPG consumer number and Bank account and others will not get any subsidy.

The DBTL scheme will ensure that the benefit reaches intended beneficiary thereby curbing wastage/ leakage in the subsidy delivery system.

In order to get LPG subsidy directly into their bank accounts, all LPG consumers are advised to immediately do the following: get an Aadhaar number if they don't have one at Aadhaar enrollment centers and open a bank account with the above Aadhaar number if they do not have one.

If they already have a bank account then they must get their Aadhaar number linked with their bank account by visiting the branch of the bank. They can also fill up a form available with LPG distributors and deposit it in the drop boxes placed at LPG distributors' premises/ select Petrol Pump outlets for this purpose.

Link Aadhaar numbers to LPG consumer number at LPG distributors

After completing the above three steps, LPG consumers can check whether their Aadhaar number has been linked to LPG consumer number and bank account at following website link:

This site was also dedicated to the LPG consumers on this occasion.

Further, the details of LPG transparency portals of all three Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) are provided below which could be utilized by the LPG consumers :

1. HP Gas:

2. Bharat Gas:

3. Indane Gas:

Moreover, Oil Marketing Companies have also provided the facility on their websites to check whether the Aadhaar number has been attached to LPG consumer number/bank account.

For feedback and for registering a complaint, customers can call on the Tollfree number 18002333555 or visit their websites, or

The 18 districts where the DBT for LPG is being launched from today, include Anantpur, Chittoor, East Godavari, Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy in Andhra Pradesh; Diu in Daman and Diu; North Goa in Goa; Bilaspur, Hamirpur and Una in Himachal Pradesh; Tumkur in Karnataka; Pathanamthitta and Wayand in Kerala; Wardha in Maharasthra; Pondicherry; SBS Nagar/Nawanshahar in Punjab and East Nimar (Khandwa) and Harda in Madhya Pradesh. (ANI)