Govt Constitutes Expert Group To Provide Recommendations On Fixation Of Minimum Wages, National Floor Wages

·1-min read

The Centre has constituted an expert group to provide technical inputs and recommendations on fixation of minimum wages and national floor minimum wages, Ministry of Labour and Employment said on Thursday (3 June).

The group has been constituted for a period of three years from the date of notification.

Director, Institute of Economic Growth, Professor Ajit Mishra, chairs the expert group.

The expert group will give recommendations to the government on minimum wages and national floor wage.

To arrive at the wage rates, a Ministry of Labour and Employment statement said, the group will look into the international best practices on the wages and evolve a scientific criteria and methodology for fixation of wages.

Professor Tarika Chakraborty, IIM Calcutta; Anushree Sinha, Senior Fellow, NCAER; Vibha Bhalla, Joint Secretary; and H Srinivas, Director General, VVGNLI are the members of the expert group.

Senior Labour and Employment Advisor in Ministry of Labour and Employment, D P S Negi, is the Member Secretary of the group.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting