Gobindpur Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: MD Kamran of RJD Wins Against JD(U)'s Purnima Yadav

Team Latestly
·1-min read

Gobindpur, the vidhan sabha segment located in Gaya district of Bihar, went to polls on October 28 when the Election Commission of India has scheduled the first phase of voting in the state. The seat primarily witnessed a clash between archrivals Janata Dal (United) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The Election Commission has declared RJD candidate MD Kamran as the winner.

Also Read | Nawada Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Vibha Devi of RJD Declared Winner by EC

Gobindpur was among the 71 constituencies that was contested in the first round of elections on October 28. The assembly segment, in the 2015 elections, was won by the then Congress candidate Purnima Yadav. She switched to the JD(U) earlier this year. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Also Read | Hisua Vidhan Sabha Seat Result in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Nitu Kumari of Congress Defeats BJP's Anil Singh

Last Date For Filing Nomination

October 8

Scrutiny of Nominations

October 9

Last date for Nomination Withdrawal

October 12

Voting Date

October 28

Result Date

November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Gobindpur seat was allotted to the RJD, which has fielded MD Kamran. From the rival NDA camp, the JD(U) had announced sitting MLA Purnima Yadav as its candidate. The LJP had issued the ticket to Ranjit Yadav.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys have given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.