Goa: Parrikar to take oath as CM tomorrow, Congress accuses BJP of buying support

Goa will contest an election to become an MLA in Goa. Parties backing the BJP will be rewarded with cabinet posts.

Goa's soon to be chief minister Manohar Parrikar will contest from the Mapusa seat, which was won by Francis D'Souza, according to information with India Today.

In the trade off, D'Souza, the current deputy chief minister of Goa, will receive a Rajya Sabha post.

Meanwhile, the Maharashtra Gomantak Party and Goa Forward Party, whose support allowed the BJP to stake claim to form government, are being rewarded with cabinet posts, India Today has learnt.

MGP's Sudin Dhavalikar will replace D'Souza as the new deputy CM while GFP's Vijai Sardesai will get the town and country planning portfolio.

Another MGP leader will be made a state minister while Jayesh Salgaonkar of GFP will also get a cabinet bert. Other than these, two independents (Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade) and five MLAs from the BJP will be sworn in as ministers.


Parrikar, who today formally stepped down as the union defence minister, was appointed as the chief minister by Governor Mridula Sinha Sunday night. Sources close to Parrikar said he will take oath as CM on Tuesday at 5.06 pm, which was determined as an auspicious time.

Sinha gave Parrikar 15 days to prove he has the support of a majority of MLAs in Goa's 40-seat Assembly. Parrikar, who is already in the state capital Panaji, todaysaid that Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari will attend the swearing-in ceremony.

The BJP, which won 13 seats, came in second to the Congress, which won 17 constituencies, has managed to win support of nine of the remaining 10 MLAs.

Besides the MGP's and GFP's combined six MLAs, three independents have also backed the BJP.


The Congress, meanwhile, has slammed the BJP for 'stealing' the election in Goa. Speaking about both Goa and Manipur, where the BJP looks set to form the government as well, P Chidambaram tweeted, "A party that comes second has no right to form the Government. BJP stealing elections in Goa and Manipur."

Digvijaya Singh too spoke out, indirectly accusing the BJP of buying support. "Money Power has won over People's Power. I apologise to the People of Goa as we couldn't muster the support to form the Govt," the Congress general secretary tweeted.

Singh added, "But our struggle against Communal Forces and Money Power Politics in Goa shall continue."

ALSO READ | Goa governor appoints Parrikar as chief minister, asks him to prove majority in 15 days

ALSO WATCH | Manohar Parrikar to be chief minister of Goa