Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wins trust vote

Shiv Sena slams Parrikar over his alleged remark on returing to Defence Ministry

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar wins trust vote

Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on 16 March won the trust vote in 40-member state assembly with the support of 22 MLAs.

While 16 MLAs opposed CM Parrikar, one was absent during the Goa floor test. Reportedly, Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane walked out of the assembly during the trust vote.

Addressing a press conference after winning trust vote, newly elected CM Parrikar said, "We have proved before the people of India, we had support of 23 and we proved it on the floor of house. Digvijaya's claims that they have numbers, debunked. Right from the beginning they didnt have numbers."

"It was only hype possibly because there was a demand that was coming that Digvijaya step down as General secretary. It is a government of coalition and decision in this regard will be taken by the coalition," he added.

Parrikar, who stepped down as Defence Minister, was sworn-in as the chief minister of the coastal state for the fourth time on Tuesday evening, along with nine ministers.

But with the Congress challenging his appointment, citing Goa Governor Mridula Sinha did not follow the procedure as dictated by the Constitution, the Supreme Court earlier this week asked the test to be conducted today.

A special Assembly session was convened for the purpose.

The BJP bagged 13 seats in the polls, while it claimed the support of three MLAs each of the Goa Forward Party and Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party, besides three independents. The Congress won 17 seats.

--With ANI inputs

Read More