From George Bush to G V L Narasimha Rao, leaders who were attacked with shoes

Anuj Cariappa

New Delhi, Apr 18: At a presser in the national capital, a shoe was hurled at BJP MP G V L Narasimha Rao. Similar attacks have been reported in the past.

Let us take a look at the leaders who have faced shoe attacks:

  1. George W Bush: An Iraqi journalist had in 2008 hurled his shoe at Bush, who was then the US president. Before hurling the shoe, the journalist had shouted, "this is a farewell kiss from the people of Iraq."
  2. P Chidambaram: An AAP leader, Jarnail Singh, who was working as a journalist in 2009 hurled a shoe at then Union Home Minister, P Chidambaram. He was protesting against the Congress for giving a ticket to Sajjan Kumar. I protest, he said before hurling the shoe.
  3. Manmohan Singh: While addressing a rally in 2009, a shoe was hurled at then Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh. The shoe however missed its mark.
  4. L K Advani: A wooden slipper was hurled at Advani in 2009. The attacker, a former BJP office bearer identified as Pawan Agarwal said that he had hurled the slipper as Advani was a fake iron man.

Also Read:

Nike comes up with shoes that can be tied with smartphone

SC issues notice to Centre, EC on contempt plea for alleged violation of its order

Shoe hurled at BJP leader GVL Narasimha Rao; suspect detained