GE2020: Workers' Party retains Hougang SMC, Dennis Tan wins 61.19% of votes

Vernon Lee
Senior Editor
(SCREENSHOT: Workers' Party's ex-NCMP Dennis Tan speaking to reporters at Hougang on 30 June 2020 after the end of submissions by candidates on Nomination Day/Yahoo News Singapore)

SINGAPORE — The Workers’ Party has retained its seat in Hougang SMC with Dennis Tan winning 61.19 per cent of the votes at the General Election on Friday (10 July).

The former Nominated Constituency Member of Parliament, who replaced WP’s Png Eng Huat in the contest, was favoured to win the WP stronghold. Tan bettered the performance of Png in GE2015, with the latter having won 57.66 per cent of the votes then.

Speaking after winning the SMC, Tan declared Hougang as the “beacon of democracy”.

The People’s Action Party candidate Lee Hong Chuang secured 38.81 per cent of the votes.

Follow Yahoo News Singapore’s GE2020 coverage here.

Stay in the know on-the-go: Join Yahoo Singapore's Telegram channel at

General Election 2020 stories

Live: GE2020 polling draws to a close, Singaporeans await results

GE2020: PAP's Liang Eng Hwa wins Bukit Panjang vs SDP's Paul Tambyah with 53.74% of votes

GE2020: Opposition parties outraged by last-minute extension to voting hours to 10pm

GE2020: Voting hours extended to 10pm, first time ever; higher turnout vs GE2015

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting.