Ganesh Godiyal appointed Uttarakhand Cong chief; Pritam Singh made CLP leader

·2-min read

New Delhi, Jul 22 (PTI) The Congress on Thursday appointed Ganesh Godiyal as president of the Pradesh Congress Committee in Uttarakhand, replacing Pritam Singh who has been made the new CLP leader.

Former chief minister Harish Rawat has been made the Campaign Committee chief for Uttarakhand, where assembly elections will be held early next year, a party statement said.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi also appointed four working presidents for the Uttarakhand party unit--Jeet Ram, Bhuwan Kapri, Tilak Raj Behar and Ranjit Rawat.

'Congress president has appointed Ganesh Godiyal as the new president of Uttarakhand PCC. Pritam Singh has been appointed as the new Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader. Jeet Ram, Bhuwan Kapri, Tilak Raj Behar and Ranjit Rawat have been appointed as new working presidents of Uttarakhand Congress,' the statement said.

Gandhi also appointed new chairmen of the Campaign Committee, Coordination Committee, Manifesto Committee and Core Committee for the Uttarakhand Congress.

While Harish Rawat will be the Campaign Committee chairman, Rajya Sabha member Pradeep Tamta will be the vice chairman and Dinesh Aggarwal the convener.

Aryendra Sharma has been appointed as the new treasurer of the Uttarakhand unit of the party, the statement noted.

The Uttarakhand Congress Core Committee will be chaired by AICC in-charge Devendra Yadav, and will have 16 members, including newly-appointed state party chief Dinesh Godiyal, Pritam Singh and Harish Rawat.

Former Uttarakhand PCC chief Kishore Upadhyay has been appointed chairman of the Uttarakhand Coordination Committee of the Congress, while former minister Navprabhat will be chairman of the Manifesto Committee. Former MP Mahendra Pal will be its vice chairman.

“Former AICC secretary Prakash Joshi has been appointed as the new chairman of Uttarakhand PCC Election Management Committee and Rajinder Bhandari its vice chairman. Sumit Hridayesh has been appointed chairman of the Publicity Committee and Sarojani Kainthura as its vice chairperson,” it said.

Uttarakhand PCC vice president Dhirendra Pratap Singh has been made the chairman of Outreach Committee, while Vijay Saraswat will be the new chairman of the Training Programme Committee.

Karan Mehra, Suryakant Dhasmana and Dhirendra Pratap were among those appointed as senior spokesmen of the party, the statement added.


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting