Gandhi Peace Prize Winners: Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Conferred Gandhi Peace Prize for the Year 2020, Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said of Oman Bags Prize for 2019

·3-min read

New Delhi, March 22: The Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2019 and 2020 have been announced. The Gandhi Peace Prize is an annual award instituted by the Government of India since 1995, the 125th Birth Anniversary commemoration year of Mahatma Gandhi. The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or sex. For the year 2019, the Gandhi Peace Prize is being conferred on (Late) His Majesty Sultan Qaboos bin Said Al Said of Oman. Meanwhile, the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020 is being conferred on Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Also Read | Dandi March: Know Date, History and Significance of The Salt March Led By Mahatma Gandhi That Began on March 12,1930 and Lasted For 24 Days

The Jury for Gandhi Peace Prize is chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi , and comprises of two ex-officio members, namely the Chief Justice of India and Leader of the single largest Opposition Party in Lok Sabha. Two eminent members are also part of the Jury, namely Shri Om Birla, Speaker of the Lok Sabha, and Bindeshwar Pathak, Founder of Sulabh International Social Service Organisation. President Ram Nath Kovind, Narendra Modi Present Gandhi Peace Prize Awards from 2015 to 2018 at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Gandhi Peace Prize 2019 Winner

The Jury met on March 19, 2021 after due deliberations, unanimously decided to select (Late) HM Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said as the recipient of the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2019. Gandhi Peace Prize recognizes the unparalleled vision and leadership of the Late H.M. Sultan Qaboos Bin Said in strengthening relations between India and Oman, and his efforts to promote peace and non-violence in the Gulf region.

Also Read | Sarojini Naidu 142nd Birth Anniversary: 6 Amazing Facts to Know About the 'Nightingale of India'

About HM Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said

His Majesty Sultan Qaboos was a visionary leader whose twin policy of moderation and mediation in addressing international issues won him praise and respect across the globe. Qaboos played an important role in supporting peace efforts in various regional disputes and conflicts. HM Sultan Qaboos was the architect of the special ties between India and Oman.

He had studied in India and always maintained a special relationship with India. Under his leadership, India and Oman became strategic partners and our mutually beneficial, comprehensive partnership strengthened and scaled newer heights.

Gandhi Peace Prize 2020 Winner

On March 19, 2021, the jury met on March 19, 2021 and after due deliberations, unanimously decided to select Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as the recipient of the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2020, in recognition of his outstanding contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has said that Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, and is a hero to Indians as well. He also said that the legacy and inspiration of Bangabandhu has made the heritage of both countries more comprehensive and deep-rooted and that the path shown by Bangabandhu has laid a strong foundation for the partnership, progress and prosperity of both countries over the last decade.

As Bangladesh celebrates Mujib Borsho, India is honoured to be commemorating his legacy jointly with the Government of Bangladesh and its people.

The past awardees include luminaries like Dr. Julius Nyerere, Former President of Tanzania; Dr. Gerhard Fischer, Federal Republic of Germany; Ramakrishna Mission; Baba Amte (Shri Murlidhar Devidas Amte); Late Dr. Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa; Grameen Bank of Bangladesh; Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa; Shri Chandi Prasad Bhatt & Indian Space Research Organisation. Recent awardees include Vivekananda Kendra, India (2015); Akshaya Patra Foundation, India and Sulabh International (Jointly, for 2016); Ekal Abhiyan Trust, India(2017) and Shri Yohei Sasakawa, Japan(2018).

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting