Francis Kahata and Joash Onyango nominated for SJAK Most Valuable Player award

The two players helped K'Ogalo win a record 18th KPL title last season

Francis Kahata and his former teammate Joash Onyango will battle for the Sports Journalist Association of Kenya (SJAK) Most Valuable Player prize for the 2018/19 season.

The duo were key for Gor Mahia during a season which saw them defend the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) title, winning it for a record 18th time. Kahata has since moved to Simba SC of Tanzania.

Onyango has also been nominated for the best defenders' category with Kahata featuring in the list for the season' best midfielders.

In the golden glove category, Farouk Shikalo will fight it out with Justin Ndikumana, who has replaced him at Bandari. The Burundian international was Sofapaka's undisputable number one choice between the sticks.

Shikalo has signed for Yanga SC in Tanzania as well.

In the coach of the year category, Hassan Oktay -who has left his position at Gor Mahia - will battle for the award with Francis Kimanzi, who has also left his coaching role at Mathare United. Patrick Odhiambo, now Steven Polack's assistant coach at Gor Mahia, was nominated after leading Sony Sugar to a fifth-place finish.

The final listing of three in each category will be done on August 16 before the awards ceremony being held three days later. 

Golden Glove: Faruk Shikalo (Bandari), Justin Ndikumana (formerly with Sofapaka), Kevin Omondi (formerly with Sony Sugar), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima), Morgan Alube (Chemelil Sugar), Omar Adisa (KCB),

Defenders: Brian Otieno (Bandari), David Owino (Mathare United), Faina Jacobs (Sofapaka), Kelvin Wesonga (Sony Sugar), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia),

Midfielders: Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Cliff Nyakea (Mathare United), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker), Danson Chatambe (Zoo Kericho), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards) and Abdallah Hassan (Bandari),

Young Player New Young Player: David Majak (Tusker), Jackson Dwang (Nzoia Sugar) Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Daniel Sakari (Kakamega Homeboyz) and Joshua Nyatini (Sony Sugar),

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Umaru Kasumba (Sofapaka), Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz) and Boniface Muchiri (Tusker FC)

Coach of The Year: Hassan Oktay (Gor Mahia), John Baraza (Sofapaka), Patrick Odhiambo (Sony Sugar), Benard Mwalala (Bandari ), Robert Matano (Tusker) and Francis Kimanzi (Mathare United).