Formula 1 70th Anniversary Grand Prix – how to watch, start time & more

Rachit Thukral
·3-min read

Mercedes will start from the front row for the fifth consecutive time this season, with Valtteri Bottas outqualifying teammate Lewis Hamilton by 0.063s to take pole position.

Nico Hulkenberg delivered a stunning lap to take third on the grid for Racing Point, ahead of the lead Red Bull of Max Verstappen.

The Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel will line up seventh and 13th respectively following another subdued qualifying session for the Scuderia.

When is the Formula 1 British Grand Prix? 

Located in the motorsport valley, 125 miles north-west of London, Silverstone will host the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix on August 9. The timings remain the same as that of the British Grand Prix held at the same venue one week ago.

Date: Sunday, 9th August, 2020  Start time: 2:10pm BST / 3:10pm CEST / 9:10am ET / 6:10am PT / 10:10pm JST / 11:10pm AEST / 6:40pm IST

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

How can I watch the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix?

The 70th Anniversary Grand Prix will be broadcast on the following TV channels

Europe: Sky Sports F1 will exclusively broadcast the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix in the UK as Channel 4's rights for F1 were limited to just the British GP.

Sky TV will also show the race in Italy. Viewers in Germany can watch the race on RTL, while French and Spanish F1 fans can watch the race on Canal+ and Movistar respectively. 

Americas: The British GP will be broadcast in the US on ESPN, in Mexico on Tudn and in Canada on TSN/RDS.

Asia: Most of Asia is covered by Fox Sports, including India where F1 is broadcast by sister channel Star Sports Select 2. Fuji TV Next will carry live coverage in Japan. 

Oceanica: Fox Sports 506 will bring live coverage from Silverstone to viewers in Australia. Spark Sport will show the race in New Zealand.

Can I stream the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream the race on a device of their choice. Sky Sports and Movistar offer live streaming in the UK and Spain respectively, with the latter's package costing seven euros a month.

Weather forecast for the 70th Anniversary rand Prix

The maximum temperature at Silverstone will be 30C while the minimum temperature will be 18C. Rain is not expected to hit the track on Sunday.

70th Anniversary Grand Prix starting grid

1

Finland

Valtteri Bottas

Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+

Mercedes

1'25.154

 

2

United Kingdom

Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+

Mercedes

1'25.217

0.063

3

Germany

Nico Hulkenberg

Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20

Racing Point

1'26.082

0.928

4

Netherlands

Max Verstappen

Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16

Red Bull

1'26.176

1.022

5

Australia

Daniel Ricciardo

Renault R.S.20

Renault

1'26.297

1.143

6

Canada

Lance Stroll

Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20

Racing Point

1'26.428

1.274

7

France

Pierre Gasly

AlphaTauri-Honda AT01

AlphaTauri

1'26.534

1.380

8

Monaco

Charles Leclerc

Ferrari SF1000

Ferrari

1'26.614

1.460

9

Thailand

Alex Albon

Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16

Red Bull

1'26.669

1.515

10

United Kingdom

Lando Norris

McLaren-Renault MCL35

McLaren

1'26.778

1.624

11

Germany

Sebastian Vettel

Ferrari SF1000

Ferrari

1'27.078

1.924

12

Spain

Carlos Sainz Jr.

McLaren-Renault MCL35

McLaren

1'27.083

1.929

13

France

Romain Grosjean

Haas-Ferrari VF-20

Haas

1'27.254

2.100

14

France

Esteban Ocon

Renault R.S.20

Renault

1'27.011

1.857

15

United Kingdom

George Russell

Williams-Mercedes FW43

Williams

1'27.455

2.301

16

Russian Federation

Daniil Kvyat

AlphaTauri-Honda AT01

AlphaTauri

1'27.882

2.728

17

Denmark

Kevin Magnussen

Haas-Ferrari VF-20

Haas

1'28.236

3.082

18

Canada

Nicholas Latifi

Williams-Mercedes FW43

Williams

1'28.430

3.276

19

Italy

Antonio Giovinazzi

Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39

Alfa Romeo

1'28.433

3.279

20

Finland

Kimi Raikkonen

Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39

Alfa Romeo

1'28.493

3.339

View full results