Fans flood Twitter with memes after Rishabh Pant’s gaffe during second Bangladesh T20I

Rishabh Pan't mistake went viral online and triggered memes poking fun at him.

Rishabh Pant's performance in every match has been closely scrutinised since he took Mahendra Singh Dhoni's spot in the team. So when an error cost India a crucial first wicket in the second T20I against Bangladesh, Indian fans flooded Twitter with memes and jokes about the wicketkeeper.

Yuzvendra Chahal had beaten Bangladesh's Liton Das, and Pant whipped off the bails to stump the opener. However, the umpire ruled it not out since Pant caught the ball before it crossed the stumps, a violation of the rule for stumpings. In keeping with the rules, the ball was also declared a no-ball which meant it had also cost India a run.

However, Pant redeemed himself in subsequent overs with an excellent run-out and stumping. But by that time, Twitter was already full of jokes and memes comparing him with Dhoni.

Here are some of the reactions:

However, there was drama surrounding Pant's successful stumping as well. On this occasion, Pant had collected the ball just behind the stumps.

The TV umpire lingered over the replay of the collection for a while, and to the shock of Indian fans, ‘Not Out’ was the signal flashed on the giant screen again.

Sarkar started walking back to the pitch, but the signal then changed to ‘Out’ on the screen. The batsman was then escorted off the field by the fourth umpire.

Batting first, Bangladesh managed to post 153/6. However, Rohit Sharma decimated the Bangladesh bowling during his 43-ball 85 that had six sixes and as many fours. His fifty came off just 23 deliveries. India won the match by 8 wickets.