Odisha Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP Set to Win 12-13 Constituencies, BJD 7-8 Seats, Predict Poll Pundits

Mohammed Uzair Shaikh

Exit poll results of the elections in 21 Lok Sabha seats and 147 assembly constituencies of Odisha has been declared. An aggregate of post poll surveys released by major research agencies, in tie-up with news channels, is showing the BJP winning 12-13 seats, whereas, the BJD is being restricted to 7-8 constituencies. Others, including the Congress, are likely to bag 1-2 seats. Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Highlights

Also Read | Maharashtra, Goa Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019 In All Constituencies: BJP to Sweep Both States

According to India Today-My Axis exit poll, the BJP is likely to win 15-19 seats in Odisha, whereas, the BJD would bag 2-6 constituencies.

The Times Now-VMR survey indicates 12 seats for the BJP, 8 for BJD and 1 for other. ABP-CSDS has predicted 10 seats for the BJP, 9 for the BJD and 2 for the Congress.

Also Read | Madhya Pradesh Exit Poll Results And Predictions For Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP Predicted to Win Close to 25 Constituencies, Congress 1-4

Republic CVoter exit poll predicts victory for the BJP in 10 seats and BJD in 11 constituencies. According to News18-IPSOS, the BJD is likely to win in 12-14 constituencies, whereas, the BJP would bag the remainder.

According to News24-Today's Chanakya, the BJP is set to win 14 constituencies and BJD 7. The Congress is predicted to fail to open its account in the eastern state.

Exit Polls Results for Odisha Lok Sabha Elections 2019:

Agency BJP Congress Others
India Today-Axis 15-19 0-1 2-6
ABP-Nielsen 10 9 2
CNN News 18- IPSOS 12-14 6-8 1-2
Times Now-VMR 12 8 1
Republic-Jan Ki Baat 12 8 1
Republic-CVoter 10 11 0
Today's Chanakya 14 7 0

Odisha went to polls in the first four phases of general elections 2019. High-stake electioneering was witnessed in the state, with Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi addressing several public meetings to reach out to the electorate.

On April 11, the parliamentary constituencies of Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput were contested. The corresponding assembly segments also voted on the same day.

In round two, on April 18, the Lok Sabha seats of Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska voted. The corresponding legislative segments were also contested simultaneously.

On April 23, voting was held in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar parliamentary segments, along with their corresponding assembly seats.

The last round of polls was held in Odisha on April 29, when the Lok Sabha constituencies of Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur, along with their corresponding assembly seats were contested.
What Are Exit Polls? Know All About Predictions For Lok Sabha Elections 2019

An overall voter turnout of 65.6 per cent was recorded in Odisha. The state has a registered electorate size of over 3.18 crore voters.

According to Amit Shah, the BJP is set to form its first-ever single-majority government in Odisha. The party, he claimed, is confident of full mandate in the assembly, along with a victory in most of the parliamentary constituencies.

Notably, Odisha is being ruled by the BJD since 2000, with Naveen Patnaik presiding as the Chief Minister for last 19 years. In 2014 assembly polls, the party had won 118 of the 147 seats, along with 19 of the 21 parliamentary constituencies.