Europa League draw: When is it & who can Arsenal, AC Milan & Celtic get in the last 32?

The Europa League is gearing up for the knock-out stage and excitement is building across the continent as teams wait to find out who they will face.

Eight Champions League teams join those who battled their way through the groups and there are a spate of totemic clubs represented in the competition.

The draw is just around the corner and Goal brings you all you need to know, as well as who the bigger teams can and cannot get.


HD Europa League trophy

The Europa League round of 32 draw is set to be held on Monday, December 11 and it is scheduled to get under way at 12:00 GMT (07:00 ET).

It will be held at UEFA's headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland and takes place directly after the Champions League last-16 draw.

How to watch the Europa League last-32 draw

The draw will be streamed live on, with the governing body also providing text commentary of the event on its website.


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Dortmund

As the name suggests, there are 32 teams entering the draw. The winners and runners-up from each of the 12 groups progress to the next stage and they are joined by the eight teams that finished third in each of the eight Champions League groups.

Arsenal, AC Milan, Villarreal, Zenit and Lyon are among some of the teams who will be going into the hat. The winners of each group are seeded for the draw, while the runners up are unseeded.

Europa League last-32 seeding

Group Seeded Unseeded
A Villarreal Astana
B Dynamo Kiev Partizan
C Braga Ludogorets
D AC Milan AEK Athens
E Atalanta Lyon
F Lokomotiv Moscow Copenhagen
G Viktoria Plzen Steaua Bucharest
H Arsenal Red Star Belgrade
I Red Bull Salzburg Marseille
J Athletic Bilbao Ostersund
K Lazio Nice
L Zenit Real Sociedad

As well as the 24 teams already in the tournament, eight teams transfer from the Champions League.

The four teams with a best group record in the Champions League will go into the seeded pot, while the remaining four are unseeded.

European behemoths such as Napoli, Borussia Dortmund and Atletico Madrid will be in the hat for the draw. You can see the full breakdown of Champions League transfers below.

Champions League transfer teams

Seeded Unseeded
CSKA Moscow Napoli
Atletico Madrid Spartak Moscow
RB Leipzig Celtic
Sporting Lisbon Borussia Dortmund

How does the Europa League last-32 draw work?

There will be two pots for the draw: seeded and unseeded (which you can see above). The 16 seeded teams will be drawn against the 16 unseeded teams.

Teams from the same Europa League group cannot be drawn together, nor can teams from the same national association.

Furthermore, due to a UEFA directive, teams from Russia and Ukraine cannot be drawn against one another. So, for example, Dynamo Kiev cannot be paired with Spartak Moscow.

The seeded teams will be at home in the second leg.

When are the Europa League last-32 matches played?

Games are provisionally scheduled to take place on Thursday, February 15 and Thursday February 22 at 18:05 GMT and 20:05 GMT.

The exact schedule will be finalised and announced following the draw.


Alexis Sanchez Arsenal

Since they won their group, Arsenal will be seeded for the draw.

That means they will not be drawn with fellow seeds such as AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Zenit or RB Leipzig. They also avoid Group E runners-up Red Star Belgrade.

However, they could still end up facing a formidable opponent, with Borussia Dortmund, Napoli, Lyon and Spartak Moscow among those who are unseeded.

There are no other English teams in the draw, but there is a chance of a British derby with Celtic in the unseeded pot.


Moussa Dembele Celtic

Celtic are one of the eight Champions League transfer teams in the draw and they are one of the four unseeded sides from that batch.

The span of seeded teams is daunting for Brendan Rodgers' outfit and they could find themselves up against giants such as Arsenal, AC Milan, Atletico Madrid and Zenit.

However, the good news is that they cannot be paired with fellow unseeded teams Napoli, Borussia Dortmund, Spartak Moscow, Lyon or Real Sociedad.

You can use our tables above to have a look at all the possibilities.