Gujarat election results 2017 LIVE: After initial hiccups, BJP recovers with leads in 107 seats; Congress leads in 74

Trends from the counting of votes for the much-awaited Gujarat Assembly election 2017 suggest a clear victory for the BJP with Congress not far behind. The BJP is on its way to form the government in Modi's home state for the sixth consecutive time.

The state witnessed its first phase polls on December 9 with a 65.75 per cent voter turnout and the second phase polls on December 14 saw a turnout of 69.99 per cent. The overall voter turnout for the Gujarat Assembly election according to Election Commission stood at 68. 41 per cent.

The festival of democracy gained momentum with aggressive election campaigns by the two key players - the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the grand old Congress party. People across the state turned up in great numbers to be a part of the decisive election.

Earlier the exit polls predictions hinted that the BJP is set to form the Gujarat government for the sixth consecutive time.


10: 25 AM: The BJP is now ahead in 107 seats, while the Congress is leading in 74. 'Others' ahead in the 1 remaining seat, in the 182-strong Gujarat Assembly. 

10:10 AM: The BJP is now ahead in 100 seats, while the Congress is leading in 81. 

10: 08 AM: Confident that Congress will win and form the government in Gujarat: Ghulam Nabi Azad

ROUNDUP at 10 AM: BJP on path to sixth consecutive win. Congress which gave a tough fight to BJP leads in 76 seats.

"The mood of the people of Gujarat will lead Congress to victory, can't comment much on initial trends; let the final results come" says state party in-charge Ashok Gehlot as counting continues

10:05 AM: BJP now seems to be pulling ahead of the Congress and is leading in 103 seats, while the Congress is ahead in 78.

09:53 AM: 
BJP clings on to slim lead, ahead in 95 seats, Congress leading in 83 seats.

09:53 AM: BJP clings on to slim lead, ahead in 93 seats, Congress leading in 86

09: 42 AM: CM Viijay Rupani leading 3,700 votes in Rajkot West.

09: 37 AM:BJP's Ravindra Patil leads with over 8,000 votes in fifth round in Limbayat constituency.

09: 31 AM: The BJP is now back in the lead and is ahead in 96 seats, with the Congress leading in 83 seats.

ROUND UP at 9 AM: Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani trails with 4,246 votes in Rajkot West while Congress office in Ahmedabad celebrates.

09: 27 AM: BJP leading on 9 seats in Surat, Congress leading in Mahua.

09: 24 AM:  Celebrations in office of the Congress party in Ahmedabad.

09: 15 AM:Congress surges ahead with 86 seats, BJP leads in 77 seats.

09: 11 AM: Chief Minister VIjay Rupani trails by 800 votes in Rajkot West.

09:07 AM: BJP leading in Porbandar and Bhavnagar East; Congress leading in Mandvi and Nadiad.

09: 03 AM: Anand | Congress leads in Borsad, BJP ahead in Umreth

ROUNDUP at 9 AM: While initial trends showed the BJP surging ahead, at present the Congress seems to be giving it a tough fight. BJP - 82, Congress - 70, Others - 02

08: 51 AM: BJP leads in Anklav, Congress in Anand.

08: 48 AM: Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil trailing in Mandvi, Kutch.

08: 46 AM: Alpesh Thakor and Jignesh Mevani both leading as per trends.

08: 42 AM: Congress leads in Patan; BJP leads in Central Gujarat.

08: 40 AM: BJP leads in 84 seats, Congress in 52 seats as per early trends

08:37 AM: Jignesh Mevani leading from Vadgam, BJP leads in 10 seats of Surat.

ROUNDUP at this hour: BJP continues its sweep leading in 60 seats, while the Congress leads in 36 seats and one seat for independent candidates.

8: 29 AM: Alpesh Thakor and Jignesh Mevani trailing in their respective constituencies.

8:27 AM: BJP leading in four seats - Limbayat, Karanj, Majura and Udhna of Surat.

8:24 AM: BJP 38, Congress 32 seats.

8:22 AM: BJP and Gujarat get 30 seats each as per latest trends.

8:19 AM: Chief Minister Vijay Rupani leads in Rajkot West.

8:15 AM: BJP's Nitin Patel leading at Mehsana; BJP ahead in Maninagar.

8: 14 AM: BJP-15, Congress - 4 according to postal ballot trends.

8:06 AM: Postal ballot trends are in: BJP - 6, Congress - 2

7:42 AM: We are confident of winning all the seats in Rajkot and will also win 150 seats. People have voted for 'vikas'. After the results are out we will celebrate: Hrishabh Rupani, son of CM Vijay Rupani

7:22 AM: Havan being performed outside the house of Rahul Gandhi in Delhi ahead of Gujarat election results.

Supporters of Congress perform havan outside the residence of Rahul Gandhi ahead of Assembly election results.

Supporters of Congress perform havan outside the residence of Rahul Gandhi ahead of Assembly election results.


The electioneering spearheaded by PM Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi saw a barrage of jibes and satirical comments flying to and fro. While the Congress with a renewed hope to resuscitate its lost ground cashed on the anti-incumbency factor, the BJP reinstated its aspirations for development and honouring the 'Gujarat ni Asmita' or pride of the Gujarati identity.

Despite the perils of GST and demonetisation, Prime Minister Modi emerged unscathed among the voter base who reciprocated their devotion by thronging his rallies across the states in large numbers. Both PM Modi and BJP chief ensured that they continued their tirade against the Congress and their claims in the rallies.

India Today My-Axis India prediction for seat share in Gujarat election.

India Today My-Axis India prediction for seat share in Gujarat election.


The newly-coronated Congress party president Rahul Gandhi garnered support from a vast populace. Several pundits credit this to Rahul's revitalised image as a politician who is both meticulous and someone who raked up issues concerning the people. By allying with three young turks Hardik Patel, Jignesh Mevani and Alpesh Thakor, the Congress attempted to reach out to the young and the underprivileged in Modi's state.

Party-wise voter preference across the state.